Monday Musings… sometimes ordinary is extrodaniary!

Sometimes the ordinary can be made special. I experienced that this past weekend just hanging out with my siblings and parents. We didn’t do anything special, but in my heart it was such a special treat. The recipe I share at the end of this post is made with Summer Squash and Zucchini, which seems to be rather abundant again this growing season. So instead of another loaf of zucchini bread try this casserole. It’s light and yummy. First though just have to share a little family time.

Treasure the moments of days. Tuck away in your memory bank funny things each other say, especially when card playing… is it the left bar? What some may call happy accident that it all “just worked out for us to get together, I call God’s good gift in the little things.

Friday at work turned crazy, but I kept going with the image of sitting under the big shade tree in the backyard at my Mom and Pop’s with my siblings as soon as I could get there. The text start flying, Diana, my older sister asking were we all were? Funny messages with Mom included read like a “Jerry joke” and I find myself more anxious to get to Mom’s, take off my shoes and dig my toes in the green grass as the voices of my favorite people swap stories, share a cold one and we start the weekend that wasn’t over planned, that just happened… or did it?

Morning Coffee... the two most important men in my life...
Morning Coffee… the two most important men in my life…

When I came down Saturday morning I was greeted by “my guys.” My Daddy, my big brother Todd. I enjoy listening to them talk about “stuff,” making stuff, fixing stuff, stuff that I don’t always know about… I love them for who they are, for the support they have given me. I served up carrot juice to them, yep I sneak in the healthy as I can. Speaking of, Cindy and I managed to get in a quick run between rain drops Saturday morning! Ever thankful for her ability to push me as only a little sister can! She has been my cheerleader so many times!

Later as the skies let loose a steady summer rain, it was time to get the cards out and get our Euchre on! Laughing loosing, winning, who knows and snacking on zuch chips! Of course Pop’s telling us what Hoyle would do!

Rainy day? What else, euchre!
Rainy day? What else, euchre!

Later in the day as the sun came out. It was just us girls! A food request by Cindy (and a happy yes from the others), we had Not So Crabby Cakes (see previous post for recipe), over sautéed Swiss Chard from Mom’s garden. We fixed it together and dined outside in the cool evening breeze. As I sat at the table with my sister’s and my Momma, the thoughts and emotions where as rich and warm as the food we dined on. I love the influence they have had on my life and continue to!

Not so Crabby Cake over sauteed Swiss Chard
Not so Crabby Cake over sautéed Swiss Chard
Driveway time as the sunsets...
Driveway time as the sun sets…

Sunday morning another cool run with Cindy before she was off on her continued whirlwind tour of Ohio ;). It was on to the Sunday routine and trying to decide how/what to share here. I knew the recipe, but I also wanted to share some of my family time. I have been blessed abundantly, but it hasn’t been without trials, some that are going on now… but I count it all joy Hebrews 12:1, because I know that God is with us… all of us!

No real way to tie in this simple recipe with all the above, other than like I said in the beginning. Summer squash and zucchini can often seem simple, but add a few spices, a little zip of lemon and carmelized onions and you have a happy blending of goodness… kind of like my family!

Yummo!
Yummo!

This is a recipe Cindy (little sister) sent me from http://www.nomeatathlete.com/squash-casserole-with-feta/  She had made it and enjoyed the freshness of it! So after being given a bunch of squash and zucchini and ready to make something besides chips with them (I will post on that soon). I decided to make my version of this recipe. Below you will find the original recipe, but since I don’t do dairy I skipped the cheese and made a cashew sprinkle cheese. I was out of white wine so I subbed with Sherry and ume vinegar. Cindy got to taste some of my leftovers and she said she liked it better than the one she made. It’s light, easy and just brings a different flavor to this simple veggie!!

Squash Casserole with Feta, Lemon, and Oregano

 

Ingredients (for 6 servings)

·       3 Tbsp canola oil (I used half of this)

·       1 red onion, thinly sliced

·       3 garlic cloves, minced (we used elephant garlic from the market)

·       1/2 C dry white wine (I used ¼ cup sherry ¼ cup ume plum vinegar)

·       1/2 C vegetable stock or broth

·       Fresh oregano leaves from one large sprig, minced (I added about 4 leaves of fresh basil too)

·       Zest of one lemon

·       4 small yellow squash, cut into 1/4 inch slices

·       2 medium zucchini, cut into 1/4 inch slices

·       salt

·       pepper

·       crushed red pepper flakes

·       1/2 C crumbled feta cheese (I used cashew nutritional yeast crumble, see recipe below*)

·        

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Heat 2 Tbsp canola oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion with a few pinches of salt and a small pinch of crushed red pepper. Cook for about 10 minutes, stirring once in a while, so that it gets some nice dark carmelization. After the onion is nicely browned, spread it in a single layer in a 9×13 baking pan.

Add the rest of the oil and garlic to the pan. Once it’s fragrant (don’t let it burn), add the wine, vegetable broth, oregano, and lemon zest. Remove from heat and season with salt and pepper.

Lay the squash and zucchini nicely on top of the onion; pour the contents of the pan on top, and top with crumbled feta. Bake for about 45 minutes, until just starting to brown.

 

*Take about ¼ cup cashews and 2 TBS. nutritional yeast and blend up together in food processor with the S blade until it looks like crumble or Parmesan. Use this in place of the cheese.

 

 

NOTES: My sister passed this recipe on to me and I had a huge yellow summer squash and a baby zuch (been using the big ones for chips) No wine in the house… I know how crazy! Anyway I made the changes as noted and this was a nice little dish. Light in flavor and a good use for all the squash and zucchini that is around this time of year!

 http://www.nomeatathlete.com/squash-casserole-with-feta/

Peace

Debbie

“Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.”

3john2

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

