Run, walk, just move it!

I have been asked be for if I am a runner. My usual answer is no, but I run. You see I am not competitive, I don’t usually set a goal and to say I like it always would be a lie, but I do like how it makes me feel, honestly I like how exercising makes me feel. That goes for a simple stretch or deep breath to a full on 5 mile run.

My brother Todd is who I would call the runner in the family. In High School they called him Mr. Consistent, he consistently ran well in his cross country meets, eventually going to state. So being the little sister to “keep up” I think I got a bug for it back then, but it has been an on again off again relationship.

I ran a little in college, but after that I got heavy into biking. I lived in Lexington Kentucky then and I rode many miles through horse country on my Black Lightening Cannondale 12 speed! Between equipment and the bike I think I spent more on that then my first cherished car. But I couldn’t wait to get out and ride. I rode with my friends on tour rides in both Ohio and Kentucky, but again never competitive, just enjoying the wind in my face, the farms around me and the strength of my body after a good ride!

Then the travel days of nursing hit. Riding and exercise became sporadic, until I settled in South Carolina and started up again. Biking, running, roller blading… moving, being outside. I hooked back up with a friend in Kentucky and rode the Kentucky Bourbon trail run, riding 100 miles on a Saturday and then 50 the next day. Can you say saddle sore! It was great.

When I moved back to Ohio running was the go to. A friend at my new job talked me into training for a marathon. Yep, the people I used to call crazy for running 26.2 miles, I became one… and yes I am crazy. The training was intense, but crossing the finish line at the Midnight Sun Marathon in Anchorage Alaska was so worth it! Another memory to savor.

Last year I ran in the Columbus half marathon. I needed a challenge and I had been running more miles without really trying so why not! I can tell you the last few miles of that race were hard. The best part was turning the corner to the finish line and seeing my brother running at the side lines… I knew then I could finish well, he had showed me when he ran.

I suppose I write all this to say “move” do anything just move! Your body will thank you, your mind will thank you. You don’t have to run marathons or bike century rides. You can walk around the block, you can do stretches in the comfort of your home, although I encourage the great outdoors! What I am saying is every little cell in your body craves oxygen and the more you move, the more it moves around your body, you will reap great benefits! So I am going to be thankful for the gift of this body God gave me and use it! I don’t think this wonderful system of muscles and bone we were given were made to as sedentary as we have become in this society!

Gotta go I think my running partner is calling me!

 

the shadow is me and my faithful running partner is the Son~sun, who gives me light and covers me in all things…

 

 

P.S. the top picture is the beginning of the week running in a little snow and about 30 out. The last, yesterday in shorts about 50! crazy fun!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your article
    seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d
    post to let you know. The style and design look great though!
    Hope you get the issue fixed soon. Many thanks

    1. zebveg says:

      Thanks for the feedback. I don’t seem to have that issue on my computer. I will have to check this out on another. I use Firefox so not sure if that is the difference.

Leave a Reply

