Mandatory… dreaming

on

Today is a day off work, my real job, the thing that pays the bills. My job has requirements and today was one of those days that I had to go in and do some classes that are mandatory for being “safe” with our patients. After being a nurse for almost 30 years, yes I am that old, one would think I would be used to this. The problem is that a lot of what we discussed today really just goes back to the basics. It goes back to people doing the right thing and treating people in ways that you would want to be treated! Sure some of it was labeling things right, learning new equipment etc., but most of it just brought to mind, “nothing is really new under the sun.”

On to what this prompted me to think in the midst of listening to these various lectures. Because I am honest my mind wanders! Shouldn’t we be teaching people to be healthy? Why with so much improvement in medicine do we have to many “sick” people? So how do we keep people from having to come to the hospital? WHAT? am I crazy? Yes I am. Really! You see I want people to live the best life they have, whatever that looks like, however I want people to learn what they can do to be in a state of wellness without medications and frequent trips to MD’s. In other words I am dreaming myself out of a job! Not really because quite frankly most people don’t know what is hurting them. We continue to treat the symptom instead of the cause. People are consuming substances labeled as food that is actually causing them to require medications and falling into the cycle of needing the medical community in it’s present state! Society is working crazy hours, sitting in cubicles and then coming home and crashing in front of yet another screen. Speaking of crashing, there will always be trauma’s, and this my friends is one area of medicine that I see we do well… and one I have enjoyed working.

Dreaming… I am dreaming of a time when we educate patients, people, children… everyone about getting back to the basics. Just as in nursing one of the first things I need to do is wash my hands to prevent infection, and in turn decreasing the need for antibiotics, we need to get back to the basics in eating and living! I need to teach people that food truly is medicine. It can cause this wonderful body we have to work well, or we can feed it junk and take a pill… sooner or later there will be “failure” of the body or the medication.

Be careful what you dream, or pray about! As I sit here in my office I look at the paper I wrote in 3rd grade. I said I wanted to be a nurse to help people feel better when they were sick. Truth is I see sick people around me all the time… and I am not at work. It breaks my heart and causes me to really question what I do everyday.

I will continue my day job, the one that pays the bills. I have to I work with “sick people.” lol! I will say that 3 of my co-workers are drinking green smoothies now! I just don’t think I can stop there!

God made me a nurse because He knows better what I can and can’t do! I do believe though that He has been stirring in me to be more, to do more, to help people not be sick!

Dream on my friends… Living in a state of wellness can happen!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Diana says:

    I love it when you get on a roll! You are contagious!

  2. April Reed Patterson says:

    Debbie….you’re quite simply awesome : )

    1. zebveg says:

      April, me thinks you give me too much credit! Glad you enjoyed!!

  3. zebveg says:

    Thanks for the vote of inspiration Diana!

Leave a Reply

