To write, or to write, cheese, or cheesey!

on

When I first started this blog I wasn’t sure the direction. I wanted it to be a blog to inspire people to think about their health. To really look at what they are putting into their body, how they are treating their body as a whole. I wanted to post information, recipes like all the cool ones I like to read.

Then reality of life sets in. I get busy, I get distracted, I spend time debating in my head what to post. I take not so great pictures of some of my tasty foods, but can’t decide what to say about said food, or I can’t remember all the changes I made to the recipe!!

So I decided today I am over-thinking things quite a bit. When I started on this food and wellness journey I searched all kinds of blogs and such, and what I wanted was someone to be real. So I am hoping that is what I give. The good the bad and the better of what it means to try and take care of this albeit temporary body I have! It was a gift from God, and I am trying my best to make it work well, with the good Lords help!

On to the topic of food! Today I will talk a little about one of my favorite things! Cheese!! Oh yes, years as a vegetarian I felt it was my right to eat as much cheese as I wanted. It had calcium, protein and it was all so yummy. I could NEVER give up cheese. I learned a few years back never to say never. I did give up cheese, and while I miss it sometimes and have been known to snatch a slice at Christmas… I really don’t miss all that came with cheese. I am sure that some of the weight I lost when I changed my eating had to do with cheese. I can truly say that my complexion is much clearer without it too, the stuffy head, congestion… I’ll stop now! 🙂

I have not, however given up cheesy flavor. Nutritional yeast is a wonderful addition to eating well, has vitamins in it and can be added to many dishes giving taste buds an opportunity to dance! I have also learned how to make a few nut cheese’s for a special occasion. It is crazy to find out how to make flavors with all things from the garden, nuts and seeds and I really do enjoy the experimenting!

Lately I have been on this “cheez-it” kick. One reason is because I made a batch and took them to work, and while my co-workers always look at my food with a wary eye,  they often are sports to try a taste. The cheez-it’s were a hit. So much so that I had to make a few batches for some of the girls, so they can have “their own batch!”

My brother, left and nephews… get your own box!

 

 

My two nephews had taste tested my “raw” batch (dehydrated) and the baked (oven batch), the crackers passed the taste buds of the Z brothers. The true test would be to see if my brother,  the Cheez-it expert who “gets his own box” each Christmas from Momma would also enjoy these little renditions of a classic.  On Mother’s day I had a container to share. Score!! While Todd didn’t say they were better then Cheez-it’s he did come back for more and deemed them “tasty.”

So there you have it folks… there is light at the end of the ooey gooey cheesy sit in your gut fermenting cheese story. You can have a cheesy taste to tantalize taste buds without sacrificing quality of food.

You ask what these little gems are made of? The primary players are Red Pepper, Cashews and Nutritional yeast. The great part about this recipe is you can use it like a nacho cheese sauce. You can make them extra spicy, or just slightly so.

So get your cheese fix a more natural way and whip up some of this goodness!

These are the slightly “baked” after dehydrating cheez- it’s!

Cheez-Its

 1/2 red pepper

1/4 cup water

1 cup truly raw cashews, soaked

1 TBSP tahini

2 TBSP nutritional yeast

1 1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp onion powder

1 clove (1/2 tsp) garlic

2 TBSP lemon juice

optional: diced jalapeño

Blend all ingredients in blender or food processor. Add diced jalapeno if desired. I use cayenne to taste for mine. Spread thinly on teflex dehydrator sheets. Dehydrate at 125 for about 6 hours then flip off teflex sheets, score them if you want, dehydrate another 6 hours until crispy then break into cracker-size pieces.

Also makes a great nacho cheese dip if you don’t dehydrate it. 🙂

I trialed baking these in a 250 degree oven on parchment paper. It took about 2 hours and requires flipping the crackers too like in the dehydrator recipe. I think they loose a little flavor, but still are mighty tasty and my nephews liked them this way better.

The last batch I made, yesterday I actually finished the dehydrated crackers off in a 250 degree oven for a total of 10 min. for a crispier texture. These are no longer considered “raw food” then, but for my nephews who cares this are healthier then the other version!

The color is not as bright, but saving this to use over veggies as a cheese sauce!

 

This is a picture of the raw cheez- it crackers… no time in the oven for these little beauties! very tasty and full of flavor

So get your own peppers, nutritional yeast and mix you up some cheesy flavors to enjoy! Your taste buds will be happy you did!

 

 

Leave a Reply

