New Chapters… sum, sum, summertime

on

I couldn’t sleep last night. Maybe it was doing hot yoga at 1930 um I mean 7:30 p.m.   I think I was just excited for the weekend ahead. Most of my family will be gathering at my Mom and Pops to celebrate Zach graduating High School! He is my second nephew to graduate.

Will and Zach being goofy at Thanksgiving,

Last year it was Will who won’t be with us, because he is working at a summer camp… we will miss him much, but such begins new chapters in this wonderful family I have been blessed with!

Soon I will be loading up a bunch of “Aunt Debbie” kind of “ingredients and tools, aka tahini, Vitamix and various wonderful spices etc. and heading over to Mommas. Today we will be busy doing the “mundane” gathering in the kitchen, chopping up veggies, fruit, mixing up hummus, dips and whatever other creations we decide upon. I say mundane, but for me it is one of my favorite things to be in the kitchen with my sisters and Mom. The wondering in and out of other family members of varying ages who will help for a little and move on to greater things like sliding down Memaw’s indoor slide 🙂

We will eat, we will laugh, we will tell stories… these are the memories that I cherish. I know we will talk a lot about the kids and how far they have come, and the dreams of the future.

This weekend will be new beginnings. This weekend will be family and food! Saturday is graduation and Sunday the big party in the back yard!! So we will have the mix of “party food” and Aunt Debbie food!

Speaking of Debbie food, I thought it would be appropriate to share the burger recipe I will be making… because I know we will cook out. 🙂 Granted this is a recipe that is ever changing with what ingredients are on hand, so feel free to “make it work for ya.”

I pray that you enjoy your family this weekend on this Memorial Day. A time to remember, to reflect and a time to dream of all that can and will be… trusting in God for all he gives!

Black Bean Burgers~

With thoughts of grills coming out here is an alternative to what you can take as you venture into your new healthy lifestyle!

This recipe comes from Connie Maginnis via www.hacres.com

Ingredients

1 tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 small onion (coarsely chopped)
1 medium red pepper (chopped)
4 medium cloves of garlic (minced)
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1 1/2 cups cooked or canned organic black beans (drained)
1 cup cooked brown basmati rice
2 cups fresh whole wheat bread crumbs
Hot pepper sauce to taste (optional)
Also optional is adding 1 tablespoon of Ketchup (from Rhonda’s Recipe book)
1 1/2 teaspoon Celtic Sea Salt

Directions

Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat. Add onion, red pepper, and garlic. Cook while stirring frequently until soft and onions are translucent. Stir in cumin, turmeric, and cook for an additional minute. In a food processor, combine beans, rice and onion/pepper/garlic mixture. Transfer to a large bowl. Add breadcrumbs and mix well. Season with salt and hot pepper if desired. Flatten 1/4 cup amounts of mix into patties and they are ready for the outdoor grill. Cook about 3-5 minutes each side. Makes 8 burgers.

My notes: When I originally made these I downsized the recipe and still had 8 little burgers, which I placed in the freezer.  I used sprouted grain bread and texmati rice that I had, some dried mushroom and carrot mix!

Sorry no pics of the burgers… but I will have some after the weekend!

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

