“simmer… simmer down…” I can’t, I am gonna blow!

I sat down at the computer a couple of hours ago hoping, praying that I would intelligently compile my data, incidental info, facts, keep my emotions at the couch and write a letter expressing my reasons for declining the impending mandatory flu vaccination at my job.

I know I take a risk putting this post out there, but anyone who knows me already knows that I don’t want to take the flu vaccination, never have and don’t intend to.

What most people don’t realize is the anguish, anger, grief and tears I have had over this. When I read medical journal articles that say, and I quote:

“Monto calls the decision to pass up the vaccine—whether you are a health worker or not—”stupid behavior,” noting that the demonstrated benefits to yourself and those around you far outweigh any slight risks of adverse reactions.http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=health-care-workers-flu-shot

Stupid behavior? You know the chemicals that are in the shot? The CDC lists the following as being found in the influenza vaccination: Neomycin, Polymyxin B, formaldehyde or formalin,  thimerosal, embryonated chicken eggs, egg albumin, gelatin, Gentamycin, Polyoxyethylene 9-10 Nonyl Phenol (Triton N-101, Octoxynol 9), chick kidney cells and Taurodeoxychoalate. (9)

 Many of these are known carcinogens and detergents that have unknown effects on the human body. Chronic over exposure to antibiotics has also proven to be detrimental to overall health.

Slight risk? Has this man not read the reports of people who have developed neurological reactions including Gullain Barre, a paralyzing condition, which is temporary but can take months to recover from, I have taken care of a patient with this condition… it was not easy to watch a young person struck down like that. I know, I know someone is going to quote me on the statistics of getting this from the flu shot. I ask them what are the statistics of me getting the flu? According to the CDC my chances of getting the flu are 5-20%! That’s all folks!! and what does the flu do to me? Knocks me out for a few days? PEOPLE hear me!! PLEASE!! This is why I try so hard to take care of myself!! I eat well, I keep my immune system in check to the best of my ability and thank GOD my Momma let me eat dirt, play outside and not disinfect everything I touched. She may not have known it but she was letting me build up a great immune system. I don’t remember going to the doctor much, we got a cold, we threw up in the yellow bucket, we got over it!! Yes we where blessed, but I know, I know in my heart that medicines often compromise the bodies ability to heal itself… it’s in the research!

Naysayers want to implicate that I put my patients at risk by not taking the flu shot. I put my patient at more risk by doing something I don’t believe in. By not setting an example to them of what health looks like, teaching them how to prevent being ill! Lets talk about the first basic line of defense that doesn’t cost as much as vaccinating over 14,000 employees… making sure everyone washes their hands!! Hello people that is what I call preventive safe medicine for all involved.

Right now I am HOT! I am saddened, and slightly fearful that a career I have had for 30 years could come tumbling down because I won’t roll up my sleeve. Where will it stop?

If we are this strong nation, that has made advances in healthcare, why are we sicker then we were when I started my career 30 years ago? We have concentrated on symptoms and not the cause of so many of our illnesses. There are more “superbugs” then I learned in school. Hepatitis is a great example. First their were A, B, C… now we are all the way to E, oh and we have a vaccine for B, but not for C, which is the one that will take your life! We want the quick fix, we want to be able to keep running on failed systems of health, not taking responsibility for our health… so we are going to let big Pharm, and the government decide for us… be careful people what you put your hope in…

Ultimately I put my hope, my trust in the Lord. He made me, He knows me Psalm 139 is a beautiful example of what God thinks of us! “I was fearfully and wonderfully made” psalm 139:14. God gave me this body, and Lord knows I have not always treated it the way He would have intended, but today I choose to treat it to the best of my ability… that means making the choice to not knowingly inject my body with toxins, come what may.

I believe I should have that choice and keep my job. I also believe that sometimes in life you have to quit simmer and let your voice be heard.

When I was in second grade I wrote an essay on why I wanted to be a nurse, “I wanted to help people”… that hasn’t changed, but maybe the way I do nursing will.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Joyce Foster says:

    Great post. Hope all read it and understand where you are coming from. Do not believe in being forced to take the flu shot or any other for that matter. You are not jeopardizing your patients or yourself.

    1. zebveg says:

      Thanks Momma for always being supportive of me!

  2. Diana Marcott says:

    Well said little sister! I am praying for you and your guns. Stick to them. Hold on to your strength, be confident and find your peace. I love you!

    ________________________________

    1. zebveg says:

      Thanks big sister!! Love you much!

  3. Susan says:

    I agree that you shouldn’t have to take the shot but I also agree with an employer’s right to insist on it (as long as you are employed at will). Sometimes you gotta do things that you shouldn’t have to just to get along. It may not be fair or right. I face decisions every day that stretch my boundaries. At some point, getting along trumped my desire to stand my ground. Figuring out how to get along while not losing your identity is a challenge. It may be more difficult than being right. Love ya, sis. Proud of you.

    1. zebveg says:

      Thanks Susan… it’s hard.

Leave a Reply

