Monday musings snackles!

I pray for good fortune in everything you do, and for your good health—that your everyday affairs prosper, as well as your soul!

Someone please tell me where the weekend went? Saturday night I had to break out the throat coat tea for the soreness that had my throat aching. Sunday found me not full of the energy I wanted to work on the Women’s Conference talk and the upcoming Wellness Workshop. Honestly I don’t do “sick well.” Does anyone? I am rarely sick, so I get annoyed with the little things! a runny nose, little lack of energy and puffy eyes and I want to crawl under the covers with lots of hot tea! Which in reality often times those signals are an alert to do just that!

So fight through I will.I made soup packed with cayenne and garlic, nice and spicy! Don’t worry no soup recipe this week, that soup will remain nameless, it was just whatever I threw at the pot! I got out the netti pot, taking Sambucol (elderberry), herbal teas, drinking plenty of water and tried to rest last night.

Also fair warning… I have nothing cute or chocolaty to share for a Valentine gift! While I don’t begrudge the holiday too much, it’s just not something I celebrate! I figure everyday is a excellent day to tell those you love just that! Let them know they are a most groovy beautiful person and you are glad to have them in your life! For 2013, it is my hope to share random text, e-mails or messages just to say I love you, you are being thought of to those in my life that I love!

Okay… done with that little disclaimer

In the winter I tend to want to stay in bed in the morning, did I hear a few Amens with that statement? Which of course can make for a frenzied morning; getting ready, devotional time, making juice, making sure I have my lunch and oh yea breakfast is important! I used to be one of those who would skip breakfast grab coffee, maybe a banana and go. The thought of that now makes me a little nauseated. However after having a good long drink of H2O and my morning carrot or green juice, I usually don’t feel like eating chia breakfast cereal before I need to rush out the door. That’s why smoothies are such a great convenience food for me, but sometimes I want something different!

This past week I stumbled upon a recipe for Snackle Soldiers. I didn’t make up the name the lovely Dreena Burton from Plant Powered Kitchen did. She described them as being similar to a bowl of oatmeal on the go! I had all the ingredients so I had to make them! I was not at all disappointed and I don’t think you will be either. She has a way of combining flavors that bring out subtleties that leave your taste buds delighted and satisfied, two things that can help get your day going right! Did I mention they also have chocolate in them… Hello!! The oats and chia seed combo giving staying power (fiber in the oats!) filling you up and dosing you with Omega 3 power from the Chia seeds… and did you know that Chia seeds can help lower triglycerides! Oatmeal and chia seeds both have the power to stabilize blood sugar levels which we all need for a busy morning.Yep, maybe that’s why she called them soldiers, they do battle to keep you healthy and happy.

Enjoy the recipe, and if you find yourself with the sniffles… slow down and take care of yourself!

Peace,
Debbie

 Snackle Soldiers wheat-free, optionally gluten-free, soy-free, oil-free, sugar-free

the little soldiers ready to bake!
the little soldiers ready to bake!

Sometimes muffins and snacks can be a little on the sweet side for parents and adults who are looking to reduce the amount of added sweeteners in their diet. While most of my baked goods such as muffins are pretty healthful, these little snackles are particularly low in sweetener. They are great for packing in lunches, or to curb midmorning cravings. It’s like having your oatmeal without the bowl!

 

1 cup rolled oats (use certified gluten-free for that option)

1 cup oat flour (use certified gluten-free for that option) I used almond meal, it’s what I had

1/3 cup raisins (or cranberries, or combination of both)

1/4 cup unsweetened finely shredded coconut or hemp seeds oops forgot, still good!

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp lemon or orange zest (optional, but adds beautiful essence) don’t skip this adds great flavor!

¼ tsp sea salt

few pinches freshly grated nutmeg (optional, but adds extra flavor if not using zest)

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce (see note for substitution) I used banana

1/4 cup pure maple syrup (see note)

2-3 tbsp non-dairy chocolate chips (optional if needing sugar-free)

 

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a large bowl, combine the oats, oat flour, raisins, hemp seeds, baking powder, cinnamon, zest, salt and nutmeg, stirring to mix well. Add the applesauce, maple syrup, and chocolate chips. Stir until well incorporated.  Use a cookie scoop (or take spoonfuls, about 1 1⁄2 tablespoons in size) to transfer mounds of the batter to the baking sheet. Bake for 14 to 15 minutes, remove from the oven, and let cool on the pan for about a minute, transfer to a cooling rack.   Makes 12-14 snackles!

Savvy Subs and Adds: You can substitute 1⁄2 cup of pureed overripe banana for the applesauce. Since very ripened banana is typically sweeter than unsweetened applesauce (and also a little thicker), you can then reduce the maple syrup to 2 to 3 tablespoons and add 1 to 2 tablespoons of nondairy milk.

Sweetener Note: To make these snackles slightly sweeter, add either extra raisins, or 1 to 2 tablespoons of an unrefined sugar such as Sucanat or coconut sugar. You can also add another 1 tablespoon of maple syrup (note that adding much more liquid sweetener will change the consistency of the batter).

 

 

NOTES: My comments are in bold. I made these while looking for another recipe. Oh my easy and so tasty! It’s like a portable breakfast! Make sure you use the zest it adds another dimension of flavor. I used the nutmeg too! I don’t keep applesauce around so I used banana and had no issues with consistency other then a couple days out they were a little moist, still tasty!

Taken from Dreena Burton Plant Powered kitchen http://plantpoweredkitchen.com/snackle-soldiers-aka-wholesome-oat-snackles/

 

Leave a Reply

