Monday Musings-Quinoa Bake

Dear friend, I hope all is well with you and that you are as healthy in body as you are strong in spirit.

As I start typing this, I am praying that you all get it! My computer has been traveling and the outgoing mail is “confused” so I hope that I figure it out!

My younger sister is in town to do some re-cert classes for her Infant Swimming Resource (she teaches little ones to float and not drown!) She has Tori (5) and Nova Joy (3) with her. So today I will be hanging out with them, which means I need to motivate and get over to my Mom’s before they wrap up Pa, or convince him that they are able to do all kinds of crazy things! Of course whenever the Jones gang are here, whether all or a few, there is gathering of the rest of us at Momma’s. Yesterday was no different! Those are some of my favorite memories!

Okay… on to the food/health subject. In two weeks I will be traveling down to my sisters in TN to present a workshop (I think I might have mentioned that). So much planning in the works! I appreciate prayers!! Let me not get too ahead of myself though. Let’s get into the Monday musings!

This time of year is always tricky for me. It can be bitter cold like the last few days, which do nothing to encourage me to get out, and while I don’t mind running in the winter the bitter cold just makes me want to wrap up in front of the fire. Then there are other days were it is 50 and the glimpses of spring to come break through and keep me from getting projects done inside! It’s the time of year were we have to really dig deep to stick to the commitment we have made for better health. Don’t slack off and take the easy route. Habits should be forming, choices for greens, moving, rest and refreshing of spirit should be happening if you have been following these musings and sticking to the ideas I have been sending out! The benefits come just like the spring rains and flowers!

Today’s recipe comes from knowing that there had to be a quinoa breakfast bake, casserole type of thing out there in blog land. Since I am queen of changing recipes, but still a little shy of making up my own I finally found one I wanted to try. Just in time too. At house church we do “brinner,” we have breakfast for dinner, it is never one of my favorite as it is usually a lot of sweets, egg dishes, and others loaded with dairy and meat! Just as I spoke of change above, my friends Lori and Greg used to be the ones who made brown sugar bacon for brinner. Much to the disappointment of a few, Lori and Greg have made better choices and that dish has not been part of brinner for a long time! I usually am lame and just bring fruit! Gena at choosingraw.com had a quinoa bake she made at the holidays! It was time to try this recipe out. I doubled up the batch, added a little extra spice and used cranberries instead! The flavors of spices mingling and the drizzle of coconut milk (don’t skimp on doing this after baked) this was a hit not only with me, but house church too, no leftovers.

I have shared with you the many benefits and adaptability of quinoa, so I won’t repeat myself. Just remember that this little grain has loads of nutrients to satisfy your bodies needs in the changing season. This is a sweet dish, but I know that in the future I will be working on making a savory version… I am thinking spinach, onions etc.! It does take about an hour to bake so this is probably a weekend special breakfast, or if you are one of those families that sometimes makes breakfast for supper go for it and skip the bacon! you won’t be sorry!

Peace my friends,
Debbie

Toasted Almond Quinoa Bake (vegan, gluten free, soy free)

Serves 4-6

1 1/4 cups uncooked quinoa, rinsed
1 cup water
1 1/2 cups coconut milk (full fat or light)  I used light
2 tbsp maple syrup
1/4 cup currents I used dried cranberries
1/4 tsp sea salt
3 tbsp flax meal
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg

I also added a good sprinkle of allspice
1/4 cup almond slivers or slices

 

1. Preheat oven to 375.

2. Mix all ingredients except almonds together in a casserole or baking dish, making sure that

there is at least 1 1/2 inches of extra rim on the sides of the dish. The quinoa will plump up as it

cooks. I did a double batch in an 9×11 pyrex baking dish (it was a double batch)

3. Bake the quinoa for 45 minutes, or until all liquid has absorbed (it may take up to an hour).

Sprinkle the almonds on top and bake for another 10 minutes, or until the almonds are little

golden.

4. Allow mixture to cool a bit. Cut into 4-6 slices and serve, topped with a drizzle of coconut milk.

 

NOTES: I made this for House Church “brinner” last week, breakfast for dinner! Oh my, this was an easy and really enjoyable dish for a breakfast. I can imagine that it would be a good thing for a Christmas morning bake, which I hope to remember for next year! I really want to try morphing into a savory bake…

Original recipe: http://www.choosingraw.com/toasted-almond-quinoa-bake/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

