Monday musings-Carrot curry soup!

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”

3 john 2

I don’t know about you all, but last week seem to fly by. I cannot believe that next weekend it will be March! That means that the greener days are coming!

I spent my week working and prepping for a short talk I gave at church during our Women’s Conference. It was a stretch for me to talk about something other than food! 🙂 Glad they chose singleness since I have a little bit of experience with that too 🙂 Seriously it was a blessing.

During all the activity last week taught me how important it is to practice what I “preach.” The busy schedule, and my not so great time management, I found myself throwing in a few stretching/yoga moves, deep breathing, trying to “rest” enough and finally MADE myself go for a run even though the temps were still so low! I had to, not just for my physical well being, but more for my mental! The crisp cool ai,r and thank you God, there were peeks of sun that day, made me ever thankful that I am learning to take care of what needs taking care of! It sounds crazy, but things get done better when I take time to fill up with the Word, good food, exercise and rest! I have gotten good at making sure I do some food prep on days off when it comes to food. I always have a salad ready to go, and usually (at least in the winter) I have some frozen soup ready for packing up some healthy food for work. I have challenged myself this year to do better with the DAILY movement. Contrary to what you all might think… I don’t have this all down yet! 🙂

As I said I usually have soup in the freezer. As a single gal I make the whole recipe when it comes to soup, just so I can freeze leftovers. The recipe I am going to share today, never made it to the freezer. It was a quick and easy recipe that I whipped up last Sunday when my sister was in town. I kept back some for my lunch, but then shared the rest with her. It’s a Carrot Curry Soup full of flavor and possibilities. Before you say you don’t like curry, you need to try it, in small doses. I remember having a curry dish back in my SAD eating days and said never again! Once I started down the healthy path and trying all kinds of foods I have come to appreciate the complexity of the flavor… and the benefits! Curry is a mixture of spices and in there is tumeric which is known to help fight inflammation, therefore arthritis. The curcumin in curry seems to shut down genes that trigger the development and the spread of breast cancer.There are some studies too that are showing curry contains a powerful substance that might protect the brain from damage that leads to Alzheimer’s. While the dosing would have to be that of a supplement, (or how much they eat in India daily, approx. 100-200 miligrams a day) I say any time you can add a spice to a few dishes a week that help your health! Go for it “let food be thy medicine” (Hippocrates)

I was thinking that shredding up some kale in this soup would even give it a little extra kick, or why not putting quinoa in for a protein power! Okay you see I will mix up anything! The other tip I want to share; I started using an 8 oz. mason jar to pack up my soups for lunch I really like the ease of this and not having to use plastic to reheat or try and figure out how to get a glass bowl in my lunch bag with my already big salad! I am not going into the whole reheating with plastic, I just prefer glass, even when drinking H20!

I do hope that you all are gearing up for the spring to come, but while the temps are still wandering all over the place I hope you will try this easy soup to add to your dinner or lunch.

Next weekend I will be traveling down to Tennessee to put on another R3 Wellness Workshop! Yes my sister Cindy and a few of her friends are finally getting an answer to prayers 😉
I am so blessed that my Momma and the Zastrow’s have agreed to go along for the journey I am praying for good fun, good food and sharing the message of living out a healthy life in the real world!

Peace,
Debbie

I have been so lame in taking pics of my food lately! Sorry. This soup packs a lot of flavor simply! Using Coconut milk was a bonus!

 

Creamy Curried Carrot Soup

 This simple soup is a rich source of protective beta-carotene.

Ingredients

Makes 8 servings

1 onion, coarsely chopped
6 carrots, sliced
2 cups vegetable broth
1 teaspoon curry powder
2 cups fortified soy- or rice milk, divided
1/2 – 1 teaspoon salt

Directions

Combine onion and carrots in a pot with broth and curry powder. Cover and simmer until carrots can be easily pierced with a fork, about 20 minutes.

Transfer 2 to 3 cups of carrots with their liquid to a blender; add some of the non-dairy milk, and purée until completely smooth, about 2 minutes. Repeat with remaining carrots.

Return to pot, add more non-dairy milk if a thinner soup is desired, and heat gently until very hot and steamy.

Per serving (1 cup): 72 calories; 1.4 g fat; 0.2 g saturated fat; 17.4% calories from fat; 0 mg cholesterol; 3.5 g protein; 12.2 g carbohydrates; 4 g sugar; 2.9 g fiber; 260 mg sodium; 100 mg calcium; 1.2 mg iron; 3.4 mg vitamin C; 3677 mcg beta-carotene; 1.4 mg vitamin E

Recipe from Healthy Eating for Life to Prevent and Treat Cancer by Vesanto Melina, M.S., R.D.; recipe by Jennifer Raymond, M.S., R.D.

 NOTES: I used coconut milk!! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

