Monday Musings… Vegan cracker, cracked up!

“Dear Friend, I hope all is well with you and that you are as healthy in body as you are strong in spirit.”

Packed up ready to go! Glad Momma has a van!
Packed up ready to go! Glad Momma has a van!

Greetings all, and welcome to those of you who are new to Monday Musings! What a busy and wonderful weekend! Me and my “posse” aka Momma, sister Diana and the Zastrow’s were blessed to be invited down to Blountville, TN to share with a few (49) new friends about the amazing healing body, and how to start making choices for better health.

All seated and ready for the day!
All seated and ready for the day!

What a warm greeting we had, and a great day of sharing information, eating great food and being encouraged by each other. I am feeling both humbled, blessed and excited to be able to share what I have been learning over the last few years. I cannot tell you how warm my heart was to read some of the comments from all who attended about changes that they are committing to make. Then to see an attendee at church on Sunday who had a smoothie in hand as did her daughter! YA!! I don’t know that I could express really how deeply this touches me to know that a few words, some tasty food and recipes would spur you on to take control of your health, even better to give that control over to God in prayer!

Yep... sporting my Engine 2 Kale shirt!
Yep… sporting my Engine 2 Kale shirt!

I will be honest, I am typing this as my Momma drives through the hills of Kentucky on our way back home! I am hoping after a good nights rest I will wake, have some juice and sneak in a hot yoga class before I put all the stuff away the “traveling workshop”, that is R3 Wellness, tackle some e-mails, and ponder what is next on the horizon with my passion for health and reaching others with this message. Oh and I am hoping to try out a new recipe too! I never thought I would say time in the kitchen for me can be therapeutic; meditative as I chop away, and often I am thinking about you all and pray that you are making good choices!

So first I apologize to the newbies, but the recipe I will be sharing today is one you all got in your packet on Saturday. It is the Vegan crackers. For all of you who have been with me for a year, well let me tell you, you are going to want to make these ASAP. I can confess now, Momma and I hid the leftovers as we were unpacking at my sister Cindy’s house! Mom really likes these, well we all do and they really are so easy to make! When we were making these crackers for the workshop, we actually cooked a batch just a tad too long… thank God then we could eat some! 🙂 As with most of the recipes I share, you can experiment to satisfy your taste. I actually want to try making them with different flours because I know some people have sensitivity to certain flours. I know one of the ladies at the workshop this past weekend couldn’t have the crackers due to the sesame seeds in them. So I was thinking that chia seeds, or hemp seeds might work, or just leaving them out, again don’t be to afraid of tweaking! I also thought if you would like a little “cheesy” flavor with them… add some nutritional yeast! WARNING, make a double batch or more if you have a big family, these won’t last 🙂 Okay I will stop now on that subject!

It is now Monday morning… Then sun is shining bright, but I missed yoga time, the extra zzz’s were most wonderful though. So it looks like a run will be in order even though the temps are still low, this girl needs to “move” :).

I do pray that you all are living each day as a gift. Yes the temps are low still, and the snow flurries keep showing up… but has anyone else been noticing the buds, and occasional bloom of a flower (got to see some on our road trip). Spring is coming, Easter is coming… take time to be thankful for the moment you are in, but do anticipate what God has for you in the days ahead!

Peace,
Debbie

Easy Vegan & Gluten-Free CrackersEasy Vegan & Gluten-Free Crackers

Easy, delicious, easy to roll, and endlessly customizable. Doubling the batch is recommended!

Inspired by Clean, Green, Simple.

Yield: approx. 35 [1.5”] crackers

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour*
  • 1/2 cup whole almonds*, ground into flour (or use 3/4 cup almond flour)
  • 2 tbsp ground flax
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • scant 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil

 

1. Preheat oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment. In a high-speed blender or processor, grind almonds into a flour. Do not over process or almonds will release oils. Sift flour before using to remove larger pieces. OR you can use store-bought almond flour.

2. In a large bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients and mix well with spoon. Knead dough with hands until it comes together. Shape into a ball.

3. Place ball of dough on parchment paper or a non-stick mat. Roll out dough until it’s about 1/8th inch thick, or as thin as you can get it without ripping. With a pastry wheel or pizza slicer, slice into crackers.

4. Bake at 350F for 18-20 minutes until slightly golden in color. I baked mine about 18 mins. and next time I will bake them for a couple mins. longer to get them crisper.

5. Cool on baking sheet for 10 mins. Store in air-tight container once fully cool.

*Note: Other flours might work in substitution for brown rice flour and almond flour, although keep in mind the flavor will change.

 

Debbie’s NOTES: I can’t believe that I actually made this recipe without making changes! I might have sprinkled in more nutritional yeast to get a cheesier flavor. Just as the recipe states it easy and was a big hit in the house!

I really want to try and make this oil and “nut free” for those in my life who are choosing to eliminate those things for their heart health! I think changing up the spices could also change up the tasty profile!

 

Recipe from: http://ohsheglows.com/2011/10/17/easy-vegan-gluten-free-crackers/

A few more pictures of some of the happenings from the workshop!

making up the wraps for all
making up the wraps for all
My Momma and big sister! such a huge help for serving everyone!
My Momma and big sister! such a huge help for serving everyone!
Question and Answer time with Me, Cindy, Greg and Lori! what a groovy day!
Question and Answer time with Me, Cindy, Greg and Lori! what a groovy day!
Leave a Reply

