Monday Musings… discipline and dressings

on
Yep... here is a little inspiration
Yep… here is a little inspiration

I truly believe that this past weekend was proof that spring has sprung. 7 out of 10 of my nieces and nephews were around so I got to experience youth open windows with blaring music, hikes, hugs and laughter!

Saturday morning I joined others to run, roller blade, bike, walk just move to raise awareness of modern-day slavery.

72 Miles for Freedom!
72 Miles for Freedom

I am not sure why these two things combined turned up the volume of the little voice in my head telling me I have been lacking discipline. Maybe it is the fact that I know I should pray more for the kids in my life and the oppressed and I haven’t. The running on such a clear day also had my mind ablaze with the knowledge that I haven’t been caring for myself quite the way I should! What you say? For those of you who follow me as a health nut, yea it is true I struggle… more than I like, but I usually am more aware than I used to be and more determined and equipped when I feel the struggle happening.

I suppose I could blame it on all kinds of things. The slow warming spring. The business of life, being single and keeping it all together. I grew tired of the blame game years ago. I learned at a talk by Paul Tripp that when we are trying to find someone or something to point the finger at we should really be pointing it at ourselves.

So here I sit writing my Monday Musings. I really did get up earlier today (one of my struggles), ya God! I have read my devotional and am sipping on some warm lemon water, now I am supposed to write something encouraging.

I have learned that it is much more conducive to getting back on the proverbial horse to count my accomplishments, my blessings and seek out the areas for improvement. I have been consistent on packing my lunch, eating well through the week, but night-time has been my time to eat up nut butters, or popcorn, even when I am not hungry. I have been running about 3 times a week, and while it’s good, it’s all I have been doing… I can feel the tightness in my muscles and I miss the deep breathing and stretching from yoga! I read my bible and devotions, but is it daily? What do I preach, mind, body, spirit?

We all need a little discipline, a little priority setting. So here I go. This morning I read through some verses on discipline in the Bible, because well it’s where I get my strength to do this priority setting. Proverbs 12:1 “whoever loves discipline loves knowledge.” That’s good I want more knowledge, and how do I get it? Reading, learning that takes discipline! Of course we all know there is the controversial Proverb of not withholding discipline from a child.

I think discipline gets a bad wrap. When I say the word I kind of cringe. Why does it have negative feelings attached? Discipline is good, it teaches, it conditions us and readies us for what we need to get done in life! In 1 Corinthians 9:24-27 Paul talks about runners (I can relate) training/running to receive a prize. He talks about how they exercise self-control. He also talks about the prize being perishable and that he disciplines himself for the imperishable. He isn’t really speaking to health and exercise, but I like how he uses something familiar and shows that discipline is good, and discipline for the body is needed!

So I confess my lack of discipline to myself and my readers! But it doesn’t stop there, because I move forward in the race of life. The last verse of that passage above: “But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.” I feel like in that verse Paul is saying “hey I preach to you and myself, I am like you, but strive to do better.” So as teacher, and I use that word very loosely as I am still learning, to students I say to you all, I am disciplining myself to be better and as it says in Hebrews 12:1, letting go of the weight of the past, I run with endurance the race before.

The time to stop the negative talk and look at discipline as the good it is starts today! Dress up discipline, work with me here I am trying to tie in the recipe of the day with the title! 🙂

When I think of this past weekend and spending times with the kids while they are not mine, I realize that I want to set an example for them that not all discipline is bad. It brings about good things in life, both now and for eternity if you are living for the Lord. Discipline gives us knowledge, strength, safety and endurance.

It’s time for me to stop the rambling… and give you the recipe for this Monday! Today I give you a couple dressings for those big spring salads I hope you all are eating! I know I told you a couple of weeks ago that I don’t use dressings much, but these two are favorites and so adaptable and easy! So use a little discipline, make up those salads and dress it all up with these tasty good for you dressings!

Peace

Garlic ranch dressing

 1 ¼ cup sunflower seeds, soaked for at least 6 hrs (4 works)

juice of 2 lemons

1 clove garlic, minced or crushed

2 tbsp. tahini

1 ½ tsp. sea salt

½ tsp. onion powder

1 ¾ cup water

1/3 cup oil

¾ tsp. basil

½ tsp. oregano

½ tsp. thyme

 

Blend presoaked sunflower seeds, lemon juice, garlic, tahini, sea salt, and onion powder with water. When smooth, blend in oil and other herbs. This dressing is best if made ahead, so the herbs have time to “mingle.”

 

NOTES: cut the oil or eliminate if you like and use water to determine the thickness of this dressing that you would like! This also makes a good ranch dip for cut up veggies.

 

Original recipe from “Everyday Wholesome Eating… in the Raw” by Kim Wilson

 

 

 

Lemon Herb Dressing

 Makes about 1 ¼ cups

 

1/3 cup fresh lemon juice

1/3 cup raw honey

1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 garlic clove, peeled and minced

½ tsp. dried oregano (or tsp. fresh)

1 tbsp. minced red onion

1/8 tsp. sea salt or to taste

 

Place all ingredients in a bowl and whisk to blend.

 

NOTE: You can cut the oil/eliminate if you would like in this dressing too. A little H20, or just cutting back a little on the oil will help if you are watching your wasteline! Still so much better than any bottle dressing out there!

 

Original recipe from “Recipes for Life… from God’s Garden by Rhonda

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Greg says:

    Thanks for the instruction and encouragement about discipline today Debbie. I’m sure we all have areas of our lives that could benefit from better discipline. I appreciate your reminder that discipline is a virtue, because true discipline is an outflow of love. I encourage you not to be too hard on yourself … find the middle ground with the things of this world, but rely on the Spirit to lead you into the disciplines of that which will never perish. Peace!

Leave a Reply

