Monday Musings… random “oneness”

on

There are some days I feel I could sit down and write forever, weaving words together, connecting thoughts and sharing truths about life, food, fun, family and faith… today I am struggling a little so I will do what my writing coach used to say… just start.

kale chips in the making!
kale chips in the making!

Friday was a slow wake up day, then a long run which was much-needed to clear my mind of the work clutter. Then off to the kitchen! I knew that Saturday would be my first CSA box of the summer season so I needed to clear the fridge and make room for some summertime freshness! I whipped up some Cheez it’s and Kale chips to load in the dehydrator. Next I wanted to make hummus. Before I got a chance to thaw out some cooked beans I came across a recipe for mung bean hummus. Over the years I have come to learn that you make hummus out of most any bean, but I had only ever thought of mung beans as sprouted. Little did I know that there is more to this little greenness than sprouting them!88047343_XSThey can be used in addition to, or in place of split peas, lentils, in soups… you kind of get the idea. In Indian cuisine, it is known as moong dhal. Traditionally cooked with spices and herbs, ghee and vegetables, a dish of moong dhal creates a delicious, nourishing meal that, as beans go, is relatively easy to digest. A complete meal is often moong dhal paired with Basmati rice, vegetables and Indian roti (bread). In many places they mung beans are known as  healing food. A cup of mung beans contains 212 calories. They are a good source of both protein and carbohydrates, containing 14 g of protein and 39 g of carbohydrates per serving. You’ll also get 15 g of healthy fiber.

Okay, so now you know what I found out on Friday about mung beans! I cooked up a batch of these little green beans I had a cup of the dry beans which I cooked up in about 30 minutes in 3 cups of water, just enough for the hummus recipe I had found at http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/mung-bean-hummus-recipe.html

Mung Bean Hummus

 

1 1/2 cups / 7 1/2 oz cooked mung beans
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/2 cup / 120 ml tahini paste
1 large clove garlic, peeled & smashed
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
~1/3 cup water

To serve (any or all of the following): shallot or olive oil drizzle, fried shallots, minced chives, zaatar, bakes pita strips*

 

Start by adding the mung beans to a food processor and pulse until a fine, fluffy crumb develops, really go for it – at least a minute. Scrape the bean paste from the corners once or twice, then add the lemon juice, tahini, garlic, and sea salt. Blend again, another minute or so. Don’t skimp on the blending time, but stop if the beans form a dough ball inside the processor. At this point start adding the water a splash at a time. Blend, blend, blend until the hummus is smooth and light, aerated and creamy. Taste, and adjust to your liking – adding more lemon juice or salt, if needed. Serve with as many of the following as you like: shallot, lemon, or olive oil, fried shallots, chives, and/or zaatar. It’s great with toasted whole wheat pita or naan chips.*

 

Makes about 2 cups.

 

*Cut (or tear) whole wheat pita bread (or naan bread) into strips, wedges, or chunks. Toss well with a few glugs of olive oil and a sprinkling of salt. Arrange in a single layer on a baking sheet and bake at 350F until deeply golden, tossing once or twice along the way.

Prep time: 8 min

my finished hummus
my finished hummus

My notes on the recipe: I used my Vita-mix because that’s what I had out. I also added some fresh parsley and thyme for the heck of it! I really liked the idea of adding other toppings before serving, but I do try to stay away from the oil! This really was an easy and yummo hummus!

This is usually were I end the blog… a little chit-chat, a recipe and a “peace out.” However I wanted to share a couple other “weekend” health moments.

Saturday I went to Hot Yoga. I hadn’t been in a couple of weeks and I was determined. This class clears my sinuses, makes me sweat more than I think is possible and leaves me feeling refreshed albeit soaking! I was glad I went. If you haven’t tried it, and you are relatively healthy I encourage you to do so.

This weekend kicked off the CSA Summer bounty!! I really like my CSA peeps! Emily and Ben Jackie http://milecreekfarm.com/ They work hard and share their beautiful bounty with the Miami Valley! I can’t wait to dig into this weeks goodness!

By the way the strawberries were gone quickly… I was hungry after hot yoga!

1st Summer CSA bounty box!
1st Summer CSA bounty box!

Another note on the weekend. I know I have shared about roasted cauliflower, but Saturday night I took it up a notch thanks to Dreena Burton, author of just a few 🙂 books on Vegan eating. Have you ever wondered if you could eat a whole head of cauliflower yourself? I never thought I could. I wanted a “snack” after church Saturday night so I made up a batch of Almond Roasted Cauliflower http://plantpoweredkitchen.com/almond-roasted-cauliflower-and-evolving-taste-buds/

I don’t have a picture to share… I gobbled up the whole batch it was so yummo!! Of course back in the day I would have had a bag of chips, dip and maybe ice cream! I had no regrets, well maybe a little surprised about eating it all, but no guilt!

For someone who didn’t know what I would write I surely have been long-winded! I do hope that something in this inspires you to get out and enjoy some fresh summer food!

Peace

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tammy says:

    Your hummus looks very good. I typically don’t like mung beans because they’re kind of soggy. I’ll give them a try this way.

    1. zebveg says:

      Tammy, I have to say that I liked this option for a hummus. Of course make sure you dress it up with herbs or spices of your choice!

Leave a Reply

