Monday Musings… orange creamcicle summer fun!

We can do this!
We can do this!

With the invasion at my Momma’s every summer of my two sisters kids, there is so much action, fun, and of course food!! We all like to eat, and while I am the only plant based foodie in the clan, I do have the help of my sister Cindy who is 90% there, but really our family enjoy veggies and fruit more than the average family and for that I am grateful.

Granted I do spoil the middle kids some with “junk”, and I will confess that I did take the kids to Ben and Jerry’s after our 5k glo run. But whenever I can I do try and slip in the healthier option on food and healthy lifestyle choices!

splurging!
splurging!

So when my niece Zoe said she wanted to make orange creamcicles I knew she was thinking more along the lines maybe of those old push ups we used to eat. You know those really creamy fake orange things in the cardboard? Well I figured there had to be a better option. A googling I went and what to my surprise… my friend Natalie over at ovenlove  http://www.ovenloveblog.com/orange-creamsicles/ had a recipe, and we had the ingredients, well most of them, but I have learned to adapt as needed. We didn’t have orange extract, so we used orange zest instead.

Olivia checking out the recipe... me supervising lol
Olivia checking out the recipe… me supervising lol
Zoe, Isn't she cute! juicing up the oranges!
Zoe, Isn’t she cute! juicing up the oranges!

These were so easy to whip up… the waiting was the hard part! I could tell from the mix that the full fat would be more creamy… next time I will use full fat coconut milk! I encourage you to try this recipe! I tell you the truth is in the tasting and the kids liked them. I was thinking that this might work with a few other fruits too, like raspberries or strawberries! Yummo.

Garrett sets up the molds!
Garrett sets up the molds!

Getting the kids involved in the making these kinds of treats shows them that they still can have great flavor without all the processed junk and sugar! They find out it is easy and cheaper! I take any win I can get with my family.

Here is the recipe with my changes in bold.

Orange Creamsicles
Author: Oven Love    Prep time: 5 mins    Cook time: 6 hours    Total time: 6 hours 5 mins

1 cup orange juice (fresh or frozen. you could also use orange juice concentrate for a stronger orange flavor) I used fresh, and that would be my recommendation

1 cup heavy cream or full fat coconut milk (you could also substitute melted/very soft vanilla ice cream) I used low fat coconut milk and the flavor was still good

3 tablespoons honey

1/4 teaspoon orange extract I used orange zest, same amount

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Instructions
1. In a medium bowl,whisk all ingredients together.
2. Pour mixture into popsicle molds. Letsetfor30-60minutes,then add popsicle sticks. Freeze for another 4-6 hours or until frozen.
3. When you’re ready to serve,run some warm water along your popsicle mold to loosen the popsicles and serve immediately.
Recipe by Oven Love at http://www.ovenloveblog.com/orange-creamsicles/

Yummy goodness and so refreshing the proof is in the eating with these little treats!

Tori approved!
Tori approved!
A win with Garrett too!
A win with Garrett too!

I can tell you summer is a great time for teaching kids about the connection of food, health and living well. Farmer’s markets are everywhere and a good place to show kids where REAL food comes from. What kid doesn’t like a cold popcicle on a hot day. Making your own is not only cheaper you can regulate the sweet content and teach the connection of food, fun and love!

Peace,

Debbie

Leave a Reply

