Monday Musings… Zucchini Chips and such!

on
So many Zucchini's
So many Zucchini’s

Zucchini in abundance is often turned into zucchini bread. Believe me I know a good zucchini bread is fab, but what about the calories? Zucchini alone is a great source of fiber and 1 cup is only 20 calories. In that cup alone is 1.5 grams of protein not to mention Vitamin A, Vitamin B6, Niacin and more! But before I loose you on the benefits I have to share what I turned some of this Zuch into! CHIPS!!

This post is a little tutorial like in I have pics and then the recipes! I hope you enjoy and when someone at work offers up some of their home grown Zuch’s you can turn them into a savory chip instead of bread.

Chips! Yep this is still one of my temptations. A good potato chip can still turn my head, but now one taste and it’s like a can notice the nuance of too much oil, and a slight chemical taste, yes that’s what happens when you eat real food for awhile, I can taste those chemicals! Have no fear though the abundance of zuch’s everyone is getting can be turned into a tasty chip and you can skip the dip by using different spices for a variety of flavors.

some of the flavors I invited to the party
some of the flavors I invite to the party

There are many inspirations out there and I did use this blog http://www.easyvegan.info/2012/07/23/dehydrated-zucchini-chips/ as a jumping off point.

One key thing to getting a good crispy chip is a mandolin, unless of course you are more handy with a knife then me to get a a nice thin slice! about a 1/8 to 1/4 inch.

Yes I also used a summer squash!
Yes I also used a summer squash!

This mandoline is a “cheap one” I think I paid $15 dollars for. I did splurge and by a more expensive one and hated it! Just remember to use a guard, or be extra careful when getting to the end of whatever you are slicing!

All dressed up for the dehydrator
All dressed up for the dehydrator

I know, it’s not zucchini, but the idea is the same and summer squash worked great for this too! These chips have a marinade of apple cider vinegar salt and pepper.

off to the dehydrator
off to the dehydrator

These chips are dressed with the below Lemon Pepper Parm marinade.

The great thing about a dehydrator is that I can leave them for a few hours (depending on temp and dehydrator 10-12) and I come back to them not burnt but perfectly crisp and yummy! The down side… waiting to taste the yummy chips!

The finished product!
The finished product!

Okay, so I hope by this point I might have gotten your taste buds flowing to want to give Zuch chips a chance! The reviews at work have been overwhelming, evidenced by people bringing me in large zucchini’s to chip out! My sister who has been known to be a Mike Sell’s potato chip fanatic also said she could eat these instead of potato chips!

I have no hidden secret weapon, unless you consider Trader Joe’s lemon pepper grinder seasoning one… and I suppose it is, but have no fear you can get it online, if you don’t have a Joe’s near you, or be adventurous and come up with a flavor of your own.

The recipes

Lemon Pepper

Slice up zuch or summer squash 1/8-1/4 thick

Splash of olive oil, or apple cider vinegar if going oil free

About 1teaspoon of lemon pepper grind or till it looks covered well

dash of sea salt

1 Tbs. of cashew cheese crumble

Mix well with hands

Place on dehydrator sheets

Dehydrate at 140 for about 10-12 hours

Cashew Cheese Crumble

1/4 cup Cashews

2 TBS. nutritional yeast

place in food processor with S blade and mix till it looks like pamesan cheese

This sprinkle can be used on all kinds of stuff! and you won’t use it all with one zuch.

Cheddar Cheese Chips

Slice up one large zucchini in 1/8-1/4 rounds

1/2 cup cashews (could soak for 2 hours before)

2 TBS nutritional yeast

Juice of half a lemon

1/2 of red pepper

salt to taste

Mix all together in high speed blender. If you need a little more liquid use a little water.

Pour over zucchini and mix together with your hands… yes it is messy but it is just easier!

Place on dehydrator trays and set for 140 for 10-12 hours.

These are just two of many options! If you like vinegar chips do a salt and pepper and vinegar marinade. You can’t go wrong if you choose flavors you like!

I did look at what it might take to make baked chips for those that don’t have a dehydrator. Most recipes call for a breading with panko or bread crumbs, parmesan cheese which neither of which i use. Here you could sub the cashew cheese and forgo the panko crumbs or they do make gluten free bread crumbs now! Bake in the oven at 425 degrees for about 30 minutes, watching for them to turn brown. I haven’t tried the baking method, but I might just to compare

Always store your chips in an airtight container… if you can keep from eating them up!

Peace,

“Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.”

3john2

Leave a Reply

