Monday Musings… Vegan Burger Paradise

on

I really don’t remember the last time I ate a burger. Somehow though in the summer it can be a little tempting as you travel from cook out to cook out where others are grilling up. Actually when I think of eating a burger it is more about “what can I put on it?” that I miss. You know, summer fresh tomatoes, lettuce, avocado, fresh onions, a nice grilled bun. I needed a burger that would stand up to the toppings that I so wanted. With the Deisher reunion approaching last weekend I knew I had to dig deeper to find a burger worthy of the challenge.

I have made many burgers that have great flavor, but fall apart too easy to take a turn on the grill and mingle with all those toppings.

I think I have found a veggie burger that will be my grilling burger of choice. I questioned Dreena Burton of plantpowered kitchen what she would suggest. I recently found this author and vegan Momma and have enjoyed many of her recipes, blog and her book Let them Eat Vegan. Check her out over here http://plantpoweredkitchen.com/

So the nut veggie burger was born in my kitchen! Yes nuts. So for those of you who wonder where veg heads get their protein, my burger may have had just as much protein in it as others on Saturday. These burgers came together quickly, and I could tell they had the fortitude for the grill. Truly this recipe was as described and delivered well… but you know I had to mess with it and you will see my additions, just as many meat eaters do with a little hot sauce here, smoke there!

I was quite happy with how they turned out!

the stacked burger
the stacked burger

At the reunion I would venture to say that my sister and I are the only vegheads, so I was a little surprised when I say one of my cousins picking up a veg burger. I let him know what it was and he was cool with it!

IMG_7210Yep he liked it, YEA. I really do come from a family of crazy wonderful people and you just never know who you might win over with some veggie goodness, so keep cooking on!

This burger passed the test with my sister and her 6-year-old daughter even ate one!

Yummo!!
Yummo!!

So this is a keeper and I will be making this veggie burger again as the sun sets on summer because there is still more time for grilling! Give this one a go for your next grilling session and you won’t miss the meat, I promise! 🙂

Nutty Veggie Burgers

 

 

 

1 ½ cups raw almonds

 

½ cup raw walnuts

 

½ cup raw pecans (or more walnuts, I used pepitas)

 

1 small clove garlic, cut into quarters

 

½ teaspoon sea salt

 

1 tablespoon ketchup

 

2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

 

1 tablespoon tamari

 

¼ teaspoon poultry seasoning, or 1/8 teaspoon each of dried thyme and dried sage

 

½ cup (packed) finely grated carrot

 

½ cup (packed) finely grated zucchini

 

½ to 1 cup rolled oats (use certified gluten-free oats for that option)

 

 

Options I chose:

 

1 teaspoon hot sauce

 

1 teaspoon liquid smoke

 

1 teaspoon vegan Worcestershire sauce

 

 

Spray of oil if pan-frying.

 

 

In a food processor, combine the almonds, walnuts, pecans, garlic, and salt. Puree until the nuts are finely ground. Then add the ketchup, nutritional yeast, tamari, poultry seasoning, carrot, and zucchini, and pulse until the mixture becomes dense and is starting to hold together. Pulse in the oats. Remove the blade and shape the mixture into patties.

 

 

To cook, lightly oil a nonstick skillet over medium heat. Cook the patties for 5 to 7 minutes on the fist side, and then another 3 to 5 minutes on second side until golden brown, working in batches, if necessary.

 

 

Serve with lettuce, tomatoes, and fixings of choice.

 

 

 

MY NOTES: These burgers were an answer to finding a burger that will hold up well to grilling, with subtle burger like flavors. As you can see I added options because I did want a little more “oomph” to the basic burger.

 

 

 

 

 Original recipe from “Let them eat Vegan”  pg. 135 author Dreena Burton http://www.plantpoweredkitchen.com

My family! we were a big group this year to a great reunion
My family! we were a big group this year to a great reunion

Peace

Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.”

3john2

 

 

Leave a Reply

