Monday Musings… Not “just” an apple

Everyone has heard that an apple a day keeps the doctor away… but does anyone really put any stock in that? Confession time, I do, well somewhat. There is research out there that supports this. I was reminded of this as I sat reading the book “Whole” Rethinking the Science of Nutrition”, written by T. Colin Campbell, PhD. This is on the inside flap:

“What happens when you eat an apple? The answer is vastly more complex than you imagine. Every apple contains thousands of antioxidants whose names, beyond a few like vitamin C, are unfamiliar to us, and each of these powerful chemicals has the potential to play an important role in supporting our health. They impact thousands upon thousands of metabolic reactions inside the human body. But calculating the specific influence of each of these chemicals isn’t nearly sufficient to explain the effect of the apple as a whole. Because almost every chemical can affect every other chemical, there is an almost infinite number of possible biological consequences. And that’s just from an apple.”

Okay, that is a mouthful… pun intended. Remember that is written by a scientist, who advocates a whole food diet, for just the above reason, you can’t take out single nutrients and expect to be healthy. Nor can you eat processed food and thrive!

So back to the apple, just as Dr. Campbell shared there are many powerful antioxidants in them, not mention fiber. They cleanse and detoxify, helping release heavy metals such as lead and mercury. Help prevent skin disease, release their sugars slowly therefore preventing insulin spikes. According to Chinese Medicine: Apples strengthen the heart, quench thirst, lubricate the lungs, decrease mucous and increase body fluids. Just a few percs of a daily apple.

appleWill you ever look at an apple the same again?

They are what I call God’s fast food. There is no paper, no waste and what is quicker than grabbing an apple and going.

Honestly I do eat an apple a day, there are days that I eat two! I have gone to only buying organic apples. Why? Because once I ate an organic apple, I realized how tasteless and waxy other apples are, and seriously what is in that genetically modified waxy thing.

My favorite apples are fresh from the farmers market, or grower and they come at the beginning of Fall… ahhh! Juicy flavor full and crisp! I have to say that I am a fugi lover, but have been won over by local apples that also have the crisp fresh somewhat sweet goodness that I get from my fav fugi’s. I use other apples for cooking, or juicing; good old tart green apples! Whatever suits your taste buds I encourage you to eat an apple a day!

All this talk of apples, the coming of Fall and the dip in temperatures brought me to one of my favorite memories. When my Momma would make apple crisp. Ahhh the smell of sweetness, cinnamon baking away. Then eating this goodness fresh out of the oven when it was all warm, crisp and oozing with goodness. YES! give me some apple crisp.

But wait… I don’t eat the “white stuff” anymore. NO white flour, no white sugar. So I was more than happy when I found in my e-mail a recipe for Apple Crisp sans white stuff! This recipe was so quick and easy. I made a half batch since it was just me, and I honestly ate half the pan… telling myself to just step aWWWay from the pan. Even good for you food should not be over eaten.

So I thought I would share with you all the recipe. As always make it your own too. If you remember having apple crisp with raisins or a few different spices, go for it!  No this wasn’t my Momma’s Apple Crisp. It lacked her love, it didn’t come out of the same metal pan I remember, and I missed seeing my Momma serving it up!

Cutting up the apples I used a fugi and green apples too!
Cutting up the apples I used a fugi and green apples too!

mmm, yep don’t forget to have your lemon juice ready to keep the apples from browning.

My option for the sugar in this recipe
My option for the sugar in this recipe

This is the only kind of sugar I have in my house.

Grade B maple syrup
Grade B maple syrup in with the nuts and oatmeal
Not your Momma's Apple Crisp
Not your Momma’s Apple Crisp

The finished product! I will say that this wasn’t quite as sweet as I remember Momma’s apple crisp. This was fine with me as I don’t like overly sweet anymore, my taste buds have changed. This also lacked the calories 🙂

This was so quick and easy to whip up. You could easily use any apples you have on hand, and this can be a dessert worthy of a good fall dinner of roasted root veggies and salad. I would even dare say this could be a breakfast treat with a little almond milk over it!

So if you want to take that every day apple and elevate it to a simple dish, go for this!

Not Your Momma’s Apple Crisp

Makes 9 servings

Ingredients

4 green apples, peeled and cored (or your favorite!) 


3 tablespoons lemon juice

1 tablespoon sugar (I used coconut sugar)

1 teaspoon cinnamon 


1 1/2 cups quick-cooking oats  (I used what I had, don’t think they were quick cooking)

3/4 cup finely chopped walnuts 


1/3 cup maple syrup 


1 teaspoon vanilla extract 


1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Slice apples thinly and spread in a 9″×9″ baking dish. Sprinkle with lemon juice, sugar, and cinnamon.

Combine oats, walnuts, maple syrup, vanilla, and salt in a bowl. Stir to mix, then spread evenly over apples. Bake for about 30 minutes till you see apples bubbling and oats crisping!

Per Serving: 182 calories; 7.3 g fat; 0.8 g saturated fat; 36.2% calories from fat; 0 mg cholesterol; 3.8 g protein; 27.6 g carbohydrates; 14.9 g sugar; 2.9 g fiber; 70 mg sodium; 33 mg calcium; 1.1 mg iron; 3.7 mg vitamin C; 11 mcg Beta Carotene; 0.2 mg vitamin E

Source: Healthy Eating for Life for Children by Amy Lanou, Ph.D.; recipe by Jennifer Raymond, M.S., R.D.

Leave a Reply

