Monday Musings… Turnip the flavor

Trunip's and radish!
turnip’s and radish!

This week in my CSA box I received turnips. I am sure I have gotten them before, but I wonder if I just gave them to my Mom. This year I decided it was time to embrace the turnip. The memory I have of turnips from my childhood involve turnip mashed potatoes. I remember sitting down to dinner thinking we were having mashed potatoes only to taste something “different” sour or something! Akkk… as a kid this was like a trick to my taste buds! As an adult I may like them! So it was time… time to turnip the heat in the kitchen (bad joke) and give this root veggie a chance.

Especially when I looked up how good these little guys are for me, I knew I had to embrace their unique flavor and find more room in my kitchen for them. Turnips are very low-calorie root vegetables; contains only 28 calories per 100 g. However, they are very good source of anti-oxidants, minerals, vitamins and dietary fiber. This root also helps the body scavenge harmful free radicals, helps prevent from cancers, inflammation, and helps boost immunity. What about the tops the greens? Should I eat them, I don’t like to waste these things… a big YES! Indeed they are the storehouse of many vital nutrients; minerals and vitamins several fold more than in the roots. The greens are very rich in antioxidants like vitamin A, vitamin C, carotenoid, xanthine, and lutein. In addition, the leafy-tops are an excellent source of vitamin K. The top greens are also a very good source of B-complex group of vitamins such as folates, riboflavin, pyridoxine, pantothenic acid and thiamine. So I knew I had to have them too!

I have found that roasting veggies brings out a different, more mellow flavor to them, especially the root veggies. I figured this was a good way for me to work my way into a new relationship with the jilted turnip of my youth. I wasn’t disappointed. I looked around the web for some ideas on what, or how to dress these said turnips up for this reunion, and settled on a maple balsamic glaze. (oh I did through in some easter egg radishes that were in my CSA box)

As this simmered away in the oven I turned my attention to the greens. I washed them up the greens. I warmed up a skillet and placed a couple teas. of oil in, added a half of sliced onion and got them pretty soft before adding a clove of garlic and sauteing that all up, till soft and onion starts to brown. Then I put the coarsely chopped greens in there and yummo!! Some salt and pepper to taste and let the greens be done!

IMG_4566

It doesn’t take long for them to wilt down. I used both the greens from the turnip and radishes, yes they are both edible and good for you!!

I served the roasted turnip and radish on top of the greens. If you wanted to beef up the dish as I did for the CSA pot luck I shared this dish at, put a little cup of rice on the bottom, and you have yourself a beautiful Plant Based Veggie dinner full of goodness!

The finished dish! Yummo!
Yummo

I think it’s the beginning of a new relationship! I should have listened to my Mom all those years ago. She knew the turnip was a good thing for me, that it would make me feel better and give my lots of nourishment!!

Maple Balsamic Glazed Turnips

6-8 medium sized Turnips (can add in radishes too) Chopped into chunks

3 TBS. Grade B maple syrup

1 1/2 TBS. Balsamic Vinegar

1 Clove garlic finely chopped

1/2 TBS olive oil (or can omit if watching oil)

1 TBS. brown mustard

1 Teas. fresh thyme

1 teas. dried oregano

Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees

Place the chopped turnips (and radishes) in a 9x 13 cooking pan. In a small saucepan heat up the rest of the ingredients till they are joined together add a little salt and pepper to taste (about 1/4 teas. each) then pour over the veggies and place in oven.

Cook for about 30 minutes depending on size of chop, stirring about halfway through to turn and mix up the glaze!

Serve over the sautéed greens.

There you have it! I have a new relationship with the turnip. I think we will become friends for sure!

I will leave you with this parting shot! I went to a pot luck at the farm were I get my CSA http://milecreekfarm.com/  I think I see more turnips in my future!

So cool to see where my food comes from!
So cool to see where my food comes from!
The pot luck at the farm
The pot-luck at the farm
Lori and Greg, down on the farm
Lori and Greg, down on the farm

 

Peace

Leave a Reply

