Monday Musings… Caramel Apple

on

A rainy Sunday and it was either chill reading or it would be creative in the kitchen. I chose the kitchen. I had all kinds of ideas of what I might create with turnips, cabbage, chocolate, quinoa, apples, buckwheat crisp, and what ever else I could find.

Before church I mixed up some Buckwheaties granola, into the dehydrator, this in response to a request from my nephew at college. I was looking forward to getting back to the potential of all things yummy later. (Recipe here… http://www.choosingraw.com/the-only-raw-vegan-granola-recipe-youll-ever-need/)

I decided to try my hand at making turnip soup, and therefore embracing the said turnip I still am wary of.  Taking it to the next level I roasted the turnips with some potatoes. The smells were good, the ideas flowing… and at this point I will just say that it turned out “okay.” Not recipe worthy to share, it was lacking the layers of flavor I was craving.

Next I was checking out a recipe for some power bars from The No meat Athlete. This involved cooked quinoa, hemp protein and a few other goodies. I had to do some improv and … well, the hot quinoa melted the chocolate so I ended up with brownie like something bars. I will have to do take two on these. If I had followed the recipe I believe these little protein goodies can be a staple during busy times. If you are curious about them, check them out: http://www.choosingraw.com/book-review-no-meat-athlete-by-matthew-frazier-plus-recipe-for/

Of course I made my stand by Salad de jour for the week ahead as I was messing around in said kitchen.

No fear my friends all this to say that I still enjoyed my day. Notice I didn’t call any of these things failures, Actually the granola was a success as always! The others just not quite up to par to share, I only want to give you the really good stuff! What I will share is a quick little caramel  dip recipe and a link to Sugar-free vegan Caramel Apples!

Sugar Free Caramel Sauce

1 cup agave

1/2 teas. cinnamon

1/4 teas. salt

1/4 teas. vanilla

Mix all together and enjoy for apple dipping, dressing up banana ice cream, or any other place you like caramel sauce.

A little fall treat
A little fall treat

With fall upon us, I was in the mood for a little apple dipping. I am not one for over sweet stuff, but sometimes it hits the spot. So I mixed up an easy caramel sauce and dipped my apple while I contemplated the days endeavours.

Don’t be afraid to try a little creativity in the kitchen. Challenging yourself to step out of the same meals for the week and mix it up a little. If at the end of the day the flavor is a little flat, you still have meals that will fill your belly with goodness. After working so hard I didn’t toss the soup, I just add a little cayenne! And the bars, yep I wrapped em up knowing they would be a great breakfast bar… I mean they have chocolate in them for goodness sake!

I will leave you with a link to Dreena Burton’s page where you can find success with Sugar-Free Vegan Caramel Apples! These will surely be a hit with kiddo’s and adults who enjoy the memory of caramel apples from fall days past! http://plantpoweredkitchen.com/sugar-free-vegan-caramel-apples/

Peace

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Cindy says:

    eat a burger

  2. zebveg says:

    hmmm, was my sister hacked 😉

Leave a Reply

