Monday Musings… A little Butternut soup challenge

Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.
3john2

Greetings… this evening! Sorry all, I meant to send a quick note this morning before leaving from a glorious trip down to Tennessee to see the Jones gang aka my little sister and her family. We had a great time hiking, geocaching, eating ,hanging out in God’s wonderful creation, Silverback football (go Garrett), cooking and euchre!

On Sunday it was a little dreary, so we decided after church to cook up some soup and salad. Momma made her potato chowder and I cooked up some Butternut squash soup, but there really wasn’t a recipe. I will give you the ingredients and if you feel inclined you might give this a go. If not, well I will be making this up again I am sure and maybe I will write down the amounts, but really you can’t go wrong when you use your God given taste buds to make what you and your family will eat!

Butternut Squash soup on the fly

1 medium butternut squash
1 medium sweet potato
2 Carrots
1 medium onion
all those chopped up

Saute up the onion with a little oil or veggie broth
Pour 1 container of veggie broth in with onion
cook up the the veggies till tender
Add spices, curry, cinnamon, tumeric, garlic powder (we didn’t have fresh or I would have put that in with the onions) salt, cayenne, ginger (I used both fresh and powder) all to taste
Blend soup after the veggies have cooked down either with emersion blender or in blender
Add one can of coconut milk, warm up, check spice flavor tweek as desired

Eat up!

That pretty much sums up how I cook. Of course it is always more fun when I have family to do some taste testing while cooking. This soup was creamy and so warming. I am sure I may have forgotten something that I snitched from my sisters cabinet.

So this fall, step outside your comfort zone and embrace a new fall veggie or squash’s that you may have never tried.

Peace
Debbie

Leave a Reply

