Monday Musings… All things Fall

As I read my title, I couldn’t help but think all things fall, but most get back up again. What I was really referring to was the season, but then again my thoughts are all over the place these days and staying focused is quite the challenge! For reading ease I pray I stay somewhat on topic!

Monday’s are usually the day I put in a recipe, and I am today… a Spiced Pumpkin bread, or if you like you could make them into muffins. All that to say that normally I am not a baker. That is a gift my Momma possess, and my sisters have inherited, but not so much me. So why I decided to make this I am not sure. Perhaps I think those great baking genes will show up. Maybe because it just sounded good and with the cold day I felt like firing up the oven and being in the kitchen.

With Fall this timely recipe is ripe for the making as pumpkins and all those fall spices are abundant! Speaking of spice, Cinnamon is one of the spices in this yummy bread. As you know I like to share what is good and health promoting in recipes I share so here are a few facts about Cinnamon’s goodness that you may not know! It’s a natural food preservative, it is a great source of manganese, fiber, iron, and calcium. Studies have shown that just 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon per day can lower LDL cholesterol. In a study at Copenhagen University, patients given half a teaspoon of cinnamon powder combined with one tablespoon of honey every morning before breakfast had significant relief in arthritis pain after one week and could walk without pain within one month. http://www.healthdiaries.com/eatthis/10-health-benefits-of-cinnamon.html

So you see there is goodness in so many little things in our life! We just have to look closely and pay attention to them… yea I am not really speaking of the spices in this bread now, but those things around us each day the little unexpected moment that add a layers of goodness to our day, how it all blends together to bring about a full day of blessings. Just as this sweet treat won’t taste right without a little salt, your day may not be just right without a little challenge or that moment of spilling coffee or worse yet carrot juice right before you walk out the door… breathe, clean it up and count it all joy!

On to the recipe now! At the end of the recipe I give credit to the site I found this on. I did put my spin as you will see in the parenthesis.  I also added raisins to mine, just sounded like a good idea and it was suggested!

Pumpkin Spice Bread

Ingredients:
1 c multi-flour gluten-free blend
3/4 c brown rice flour
1 c loosely packed brown sugar (I used half coconut sugar)
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp cloves
1/8 tsp cardamom
1 1/4 c pumpkin purée
1/4 c plus 3 Tbsp vegetable oil (or apple sauce for low-fat version my choice!)
3 Tbsp maple syrup (or honey, agave or similar natural sugar)
2 Tbsp water
3/4 c chopped walnuts, almonds and pecans (I also added pumpkin seeds)

Instructions
Pre-heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour a loaf pan.

In a large bowl, mix together flours, sugar, soda, baking powder, salt, and all the spices.

Next, in a small bowl, stir together pumpkin, oil, syrup, and water.

Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture, combining until everything is just moistened and forms a thick batter.

IMG_0186

Fold in chopped nuts.

Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan and place in the center rack of the oven.

IMG_0187

Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Place on a wire rack and let cool for 10-15 minutes.

Using a butter knife or flat spatula, gently loosen the bread from the sides of the pan, and tip it out. Set the loaf on the wire rack to finish cooling.

IMG_0188

Ready for some eating! Yummo
Ready for some eating!
Yummo

I pretty much followed the recipe from here…

http://www.treehugger.com/easy-vegetarian-recipes/pumpkin-and-spice-quickbread-nuts-vegan-gluten-free.html

I hope you enjoy… and Happy Birthday to my beautiful Momma today!

Peace

Leave a Reply

