Monday Musings… Soup for the soul!

I have a memory of eating Lipton’s Chicken soup at my Grandma’s when I was about 6 or so. Honestly I don’t know if that is the first place I had it, it’s just what I remembered the other day. I am not sure what the fascination  was about this little powdered packet that when mixed with hot water became soup, that I enjoyed. That was before they put MSG in everything, maybe it was the mix of flavor spices they use, no matter, it was processed food in it’s making. I do remember liking the little green specks in it, and even calling it grass soup! I suppose I was destined to be a Veghead!

For whatever reason this lead me the other day on a quest to make a noodle soup. This recipe I found has no flavors like those I vaguely remember from the little packet, nor does it have any green flecks in it, although I think chopped up kale could go in, I mean really kale goes with everything, right? I digress, what this soup does have is a mix of mild flavors that soothe the soul without chicken (think Chicken Soup for Soul book series)! It’s easy to make up, and for me works pretty well as something I can freeze and grab when I need a little extra with my work lunch.

That’s what Vegheads do. We find a way to satisfy our taste buds, mind and soul with foods that are healing, but can evoke that memory of days gone by!

had to share the "chop" I am getting a little better at mu even chop... I hope!
had to share the color veggies.  I am getting a little better at my “even chop”… I hope!
Talk about soup for the soul
Talk about soup for the soul

Here’s the recipe… enjoy! You will see my subs in parenthesis. I have to tell you I am glad I had the dried mushroom mix and used those instead of fresh mushroom, it gave it a little more “meaty” taste, not that I really know what that taste like anymore, maybe it was more a texture thing! So if that is what you are looking for, go for a dried mushroom mix!

Chickpea Noodle Soup

Servings: 8

Ingredients

Instructions

Line a large soup pot with broth, about 1/4 cup. Add carrots, celery and onion and sauté over high heat until onions are translucent, about 3 minutes. Add mushrooms and more broth if necessary. Continue to cook over high heat until the mushrooms are soft, about 3 minutes. Add remaining broth, bay leaves, miso and tamari. Cover and bring to a boil. Once boiling, add pasta and reduce heat to medium. Cook for another 6 minutes, or until pasta is al dente (adjust time accordingly). Stir in chickpeas and taste test. Add more miso or salt if necessary or desired. Allow soup to thoroughly heat the chickpeas. Fish out bay leaves and serve.

Nutritional Information

  • Serving Size: 1
  • Servings Per Batch: 8
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories 280
  • Fat 5g
  • Carbohydrate 44g
  • Dietary Fiber11g
  • Sugars7g
  • Protein17g

My Notes: I liked this soup… soothing, but I did add pepper, because I like pepper and just a little spicy heat. There is nothing fussy or fancy about this soup, just a good soothing must have, and enjoy!

http://happyherbivore.com/recipe/chickpea-noodle-soup/

yummo!
yummo!
Leave a Reply

