Monday Musings… Sprouts abound!

Looking forward to seeing how much these two have "sprouted"
Looking forward to seeing how much these two have “sprouted”

Ahhh, Thanksgiving week! Today the invasion begins at my Momma’s house as my siblings and their families start making the trip to the house full of thanks, Love and FOOD! There truly is no place like home, and while my Momma’s house is special, it’s really the people who live there, have fought there, have loved there and forgiven much there that make it the place we call home. So it’s really a crazy week of love, lack of sleep, sharing, food, cleaning up, hanging out… and yes eating.

I still am debating as to what to bring to the table to eat for Thanksgiving day. I have been mulling over what I might write on the 3×5 card my Mom has us fill out every year telling what we are thankful for! I am a little sad that once again I won’t be running the Turkey trot but thankful for my trainer Josh, who is helping me get my knee back to normal and kicking my butt in the process in a good way. I feel like I am forgetting something important, but will continue on, and hopefully it wasn’t too crucial!

One dish I am hoping that my wanna be veghead sister says yes to for the menu is brussels sprouts! I never really thought I would like these little spheres of what looked like mini cabbages. As a child I am not sure I even had them. A few years ago though I tried them again, roasted and pan seared both, and I found a new appreciation for these beauties! So I tell you if you have written off these little globes of goodness, I encourage you to give them another chance.

The recipe I am sharing today is from “Crazy Sexy Kitchen” cookbook, pg. 208. Seriously you could just whip the little sprouts up with some olive oil, salt and pepper and call it done roasting in an oven, but this recipe is elevated slightly with a few other key players that add just a little flair to the palate party that will happen in your mouth when you taste this!

So add a little more veggies to your Thanksgiving feast this year and start it with a little “sprout.” If you have a big group, double this up, it goes fast!

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with pistachios and cipollino onions (serves 4)

3 cups Brussels sprouts

1 cup cipollino onions or shallots, peeled and quartered

1/4 cup raw pistachios

1/2 teas. black pepper

1/2 teas. sea salt

Pinch of red pepper flakes

2 Tbs. olive oil

3 Tbs. sherry (or vegetable stock if omitting alcohol)

1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. In a bowl, combine Brussels sprouts, onions , and pistachios and toss with spices, olive oil, and sherry.

2. Roast Brussels sprouts mixture on sheet pan for 12 to 15 minutes, shaking pan about halfway through to ensure even cooking. Serve hot!

My Notes: I normally cut back on the oil for this, especially if you are watching your fats, but for Thanksgiving, I might splurge and use it all! I used shallots because I couldn’t find the other kind of onion but I have to say I like the little bit of color the shallot adds. I encourage you to use the Sherry. The alcohol cooks off, and the flavor is a little richer than if using veggie stock, still good, just more zing with Sherry.

Last year and the Brussels sprouts on the left, roasted veggies on the right
Last year and the Brussels sprouts on the left, roasted veggies on the right

I believe last year we had to light up the grill to do the sprouts, but hopefully we will have some oven room as the temps outside this year will be quite chilly, but just know that is an option if the bird in your house is an oven hog!

Happy Thanksgiving all!

“…Thank you!”
Thank you for your love,
    thank you for your faithfulness;
Most holy is your name,
    most holy is your Word.
The moment I called out, you stepped in;
    you made my life large with strength.”

Psalm 138:2 the message

One Comment Add yours

  1. zebveg says:

    Reblogged this on zebveg and commented:

    Yes, sprouts are on the menu again!!

Leave a Reply

