Monday Musings… Popcorn, Chai style!

Sorry for the blur... I was laughing.
Sorry for the blur… I was laughing.

This little island is a great place to spend a blustery Sunday… especially with these 3 ladies! Yesterday my sister Diana, her daughter, Zoe and I invaded my Momma’s kitchen to “help” her bag up all the goodies she makes to give away to friends and family at Christmas. There are cookies, homemade caramels, fudge, and chex mix and more. Momma doesn’t put as many treats in my bag since I am such a picky veg head :), but I still get all the love!

I suppose I aspire to follow in my Momma’s culinary footsteps. Making and sharing simple good food. Taking care to share the extra spice of love and self that goes into sharing special flavors. Alas though, I am not a baker, like my sister Diana, nor a cook by instinct like my sister Cindy. I am a plant eater who likes her greens. So while I have made the candies my Momma shares each year, never to her perfection, maybe that’s one of the reason I stepped out into veggie land. Now I make different goodies.

In my quest to find some edibles to give this year, I came across a collection of Vegan recipes. Oh what fun. Making food gifts at Christmas is just a little extra special to me, see above, it’s in the blood. One of the recipes discovered is for Chai Popcorn. In college I was sure popcorn was a meal… and truth be told I sometimes still do! I cringe though to think of the GMO factor and I splurge on organic (even though that is no sure prize) While I am not big in the sweet popcorn department, tis the season. This recipe caught me with the idea of Chai (yummo), and I was not disappointed! This recipe came together so quick, easy… and tasty! I took a sample over to Momma’s and it was a hit!

Diana approved... and this was the beverage of choice to enjoy it with!
Diana approved… and so did Zoe!

I can’t wait to make more of this and share, and share I am with you by giving you this recipe! Sweetened with coconut sugar and maple syrup spiced with  hints of pepper and other chai secrets this is not your typical flavored popcorn. So if you want to have or give a twist on popcorn this year, or treat yourself, get out your whirly pop and whip some up!

ahhh, look how yummy!
look how yummy! waiting to cool

Chai Spiced Popcorn

2 tsp  coconut oil
1/3 cup  popcorn kernels
1 cup coconut sugar
½ cup  pure maple syrup
1 tsp  ground cinnamon
½ tsp ground ginger
¼ tsp ground cloves
pinch of ground cardamom
½ tsp black pepper
½ tsp sea salt
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1. Pre-heat oven to 300F. Line two baking sheets with                         parchment paper.
2. In a large pot (with a lid) over medium-high heat,
combine 2 teaspoons of coconut oil and the popcorn
kernels. Cover the pot and shake it back and forth
across the burner to keep the kernels moving. Listen
for the popping sound to slow down (approximately
3 to 5 minutes) then quickly remove from heat and
pour the popcorn into a large bowl.
3. In a small pot over medium heat, combine the remaining
ingredients, stir until the sugar has dissolved into a thin
liquid.
4. Pour the sauce on top of the popcorn and toss to coat.
5. Spread the popcorn into a single layer on the prepared
baking sheets. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes. Toss the
popcorn around the pan using a spoon about halfway
through. Remove from the oven and allow to cool.
Store in an airtight container.
Makes 8 cups

Good temptation
Good temptation

Peace

Leave a Reply

