Monday Musings… it’s in the drink

on

My stomach woke me this morning… and it wasn’t hungry. To say I am an intolerant sick person would be putting it mild. The combination of being a nurse and a health nut it’s a double whammy. Having said that though I also have learned to listen to my body and the warning signs. Yesterday at yoga training it was the sniffles and a little stuffiness, today ya,  I already mentioned the stomach 😦

So here I am sipping on a little concoction of ginger, lemon, cayenne, and a little honey. IMG_0626

Juice of 1/2 to 1 lemon

1 inch or so of ginger

dash of cayenne

1 -2 teaspoons of honey

mix all in hot water and sip a few cups during the day

Ginger is good for digestion, warms up the body, it can also help with aches/pain if you have the flu, and helps to break up mucous. Lemon boost immunity, a natural detox agent, and has a good source of Vit. C. I know a lot of people don’t like cayenne, but I say add just a dash, it has such great health benefits, is cheaper and better for you than what the doc might give you too! Really does any “medicine” taste good? Cayenne helps with nausea, poor circulation, fevers and digestive issues… just a dash, I promise!! Honey, well I like it… it’s soothing, has antioxidant/anti bacterial agents and is cleansing. Plus it’s a little sugar and if you aren’t eating a lot helps to maintain a good blood sugar so you don’t feel dizzy on top of feeling yuk!

Today I will be relying on my assortment of teas that I have on hand, IMG_0627and I hope to make some green juice to with what is in the fridge

Kale, celery, cucumber, carrot, parsley
Kale, celery, cucumber, carrot, parsley

… possibly a soup if I feel like it later… and rest!

If you need me this is where I will be... between laundry loads :)
If you need me this is where I will be… between laundry loads 🙂

I do hope to cut this little bug short by following my plan. I am grateful it is my day off! The taking down of Christmas lights and de-cluttering the kitchen may have to wait for a more energy filled day. Who knows though this little dash of morning medicine, might just get me moving more by the afternoon! It’s already settled my stomach…

I am off to that little bit of cozy I showed you in the picture above, and sending you all blessings of wellness and health.

Peace

Leave a Reply

