Monday Musings… nothing new, and everything else

This past weekend I have found myself reflecting on the past, and looking into the year ahead with eyes and heart open.  I had one of those weekends that an old friend used to refer to as a “Debbie day.” Usually that meant that I was totally off the radar… I was totally off, but I did spend a fair amount of time alone.

As I have been reflecting and reading, it appears everyone is doing the normal push for the new year, the new diet, the new work out, the new you. Back in my “younger years” Slim Fast and Dexatrim were the buzz ways to loose weight feel great. Step aerobic classes promised to firm those thighs and buns as Jane used to say… you know Jane Fonda. My friends and I contemplated all this as we sipped on Tab ate our cobb salads, because they were salads! and wore our bikinis… yes I wore a bikini.

While I am not sure I still want to wear a bikini, and I am ever grateful for surviving the crazy diets and fads I tried… I feel like as the good book says “there is nothing new under the sun.” It’s 2014 and the new buzz words are Advocare, Paleo, and yes even my Plant Based Whole food diet is gaining “buzz” attention. There are all kinds of detox’s, cleanses and what’s the new work out wonder for 2014?  Krav Maga? yea, I had to look that one up too. It’s a form of self-defense. For those of us here in the mid-west, we are still plugging away at crossfit and boot camp as great ways to work out.

Now before you quit reading, take offense or if I touched a tender spot with something either you are trying or have tried, I am not claiming to be an expert, a mere observer, consumer who is a little older, so maybe a little wiser… lol 🙂

I do want to share with you though a few of my observations… which came to mind while I walked/ran a new path Saturday.

New Year, new paths
New Year, new paths

I realized that looking back I can’t regret, but I can reflect and ya, I wish I would have stuck to my immature true self a few times in my 20’s or 30’s and maybe I could have missed a few rough turns, but then again would I be who I am today? I think not.

Soooo I look ahead. Gone our my days of chasing after the latest QUICK fix to slim my thighs and flatten my belly. I know that no pill, powder or potion will smooth those places out. I have learned that what I put into my body and how I move my body will change how I feel about my body! The other revelation that I have come to slowly over the last few years is that I kind like my body, more than ever. I have more wrinkles, scars and jiggles than I ever did in my 20-30’s. It is not perfect by any means, and this last week it has weathered a few more challenges, but my body is a gift… something else I read in the good book! So I will continue to treat it as the gift it is. So for me, I will stick to the basics. Eating clean, you know real food; greens, veggies, fruit, grains, nuts. I’ll take more walks, bike rides or runs in 2014. I am in the midst of my yoga teacher training and I am learning more of what my body can do as long as I keep using it! I am excited to explore more the wonder of  the gift the body is as I continue my journey.

The twist to all this? Nothing really and everything. The things I am choosing in 2014 is really going back to the basics. Nothing complicated, walking really? You just need to lace up your shoes and head out! Don’t forget to stop too…

Breathe....
Breathe….

I have always been “that nurse” who tells her patients to breathe to help them relax. Add in a few months of yoga training and wow… I am finding it really is all about the breathe. In Genesis God breathes life into man… breathe of life! In 2014 I am going to stop… sit and breathe more, meditate and pray.

Eating well? Get some organic apples, eat a few carrots! Again nothing fancy, no powders, potions or counting calories. Eating food that has been around since the beginning of time. I made some millet porridge Saturday morning and it was so good, filling and easy. A few benefits of millet: high in protein, helps to lower triglycerides, can help calm you due to the serotonin in it, acts as a pre-biotic for your inner eco-system, hydrating to the colon, low glycemic index, and it is gluten-free.

Millet porridge
Millet porridge

Serves 2

Ingredients:

1/2 cup whole millet

1 1/2 cups water

extra water for soaking

optional ‘starter’ -1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar, or lemon juice

1 pinch sea salt

Optional toppings: hemp seeds, ground flax seeds, nut or seed butter, ghee, coconut oil, dried coconut, dried fruit, plain yogurt, raw honey

Some people enjoy this as a savory breakfast bowl by adding miso, tamari or soy sauce, tahini or your favorite savory condiment.

Directions:

1. The night before: Soak millet at room temperature in enough water to cover the grain (about 1 cup) and add the ‘starter’.

2. Morning for breakfast: Drain and rinse the millet and cook it with the 1 1/2 cups of water and pinch of salt.

3. Cook on medium heat, in a covered pot for about 15 minutes, until the water has absorbed. If you like your porridge thinner, add more water and cook to desired consistency.

4. Add toppings of fresh or dried fruit or nuts and enjoy.

(adapted from Andrea Porter)

You knew I would eventually get to a recipe. I wasn’t sure I would after my little rabbit trail!

After all is said and done, there really isn’t anything new under the sun! We each walk a path and try and do what works best for each one of us, but if I can offer a little advice, be careful of the fads even those that have been around a few years. Look to the tried and true time-tested basics to build on.

life is a journey
life really is a journey

Stay well on your journey of life so you can handle the twist and turns, ups and downs.

Peace

Leave a Reply

