Monday Musings… share a meal, paying it forward

I thought I knew what I would share today… then I went to share at One Bistro http://onebistro.org/one-bistro-mission/ last night. 1534925_10151883157837341_1508143932_o

A few of us sharing what serving at One Bistro means
Sharing what serving at One Bistro means to us

I encourage you to check out their website and see what they are all about. In short it is a cafe that serves great food at a good price… which might be free, or you work for your meal. Sounds like something you would see in an old movie. Neighbors taking care of neighbors. Imagine an old brick building in small town mid-west Ohio. Worn wooden floors, high ceiling, very rustic. There are long community tables, smiles and lots of love being served up with the food. My house church helps serve a meal there once a month. I often struggle with going, but once there, I feel blessed to help feed people in my community a good meal. Last night a couple of us from house church went to speak about our experience there. I had no idea this was the end of a summit in which they had been sharing the concept with other surrounding communities who want to also feed their neighbors.1524412_10151883158147341_2057582191_o1399029_10151883158262341_1698035849_oReading these stats I was a little taken back… I really can be selfish, not really seeing what my neighbor might be facing, can’t we all?

The other thing that hit me last night too, was what I have been working through in the last couple of years. Healing bodies and souls really does start with some basic needs. Food for body and soul… why did Jesus feed the 5,000 first and then teach? It’s hard to share with people when they are hungry… haven’t eaten for days, their minds aren’t clear. Feed the people. That’s what One Bistro does and more. I keep repeating what Hippocrates said long ago: “Let food be thy medicine, and medicine be thy food.” Let me clarify that One Bistro is not a vegan/vegetarian, Plant Based place, but they serve real salad greens, fresh ingredients, even home grown goods from their small patio. They serve real food, and share real truth… and maybe I can share a few Kale recipes with them :).

Check them out!
Check them out! If you are in Miamisburg, Ohio

I just wanted to share with you all what food can do. Especially when you share from your abundant table… or if you are in need, what might be out there!

As I look into 2014 and starting my cooking class at Rouxbe http://rouxbe.com/ I get excited to see where God might take me this year! After last night I am hoping that it will include more time at One Bistro, sharing food, sharing life, stepping out of my comfort zone.

Speaking of sharing food… I am going to include a recipe. It seems a little anti-climatic after sharing about One Bistro, but I’m going with it. Artichoke Spinach dip! This is one of those dishes I kind of miss since going dairy free. I will confess to eating the original on rare occasions. I was excited to find this recipe, but I must confess it’s not as creamy as the fat laden, full on calorie version, but it makes up for it in it’s full flavor! IMG_0675

This can be served up on chips, veggies, or even used as a spread! Thanks again to Dreena Burton of Plant-Powered Kitchen for inspiring… I made a some changes, and have been considering a few more, but I wanted you all to have this in case you wanted a healthier treat to serve up at those Super Bowl parties around the corner.

Artichoke Spinach Dip

3/4 cup raw cashews (unsoaked)

3/4 cup plain unsweetened non-dairy milk (I like almond)

3 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice go for

2 medium-large cloves garlic (use 1 to make it family-friendly; use less/more to taste)

3/4 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp dry (ground) mustard

freshly ground black pepper to taste

3 tbsp. of nutritional yeast

2 cups frozen artichoke hearts, (found these at Trader Joe’s, partially thawed (helps for pulsing in blender)

2 cups (loosely packed) spinach leaves

Preheat oven to 425.  In a blender, first add cashews, milk, lemon juice , garlic, salt, dry mustard, nutritional yeast and pepper.  Blend until very smooth.  If using Vitamix, or other high-powered blender, this will only take a minute or so.   If using a standard blender, keep blending until very smooth.   Add artichokes and spinach and just PULSE through.  Do not fully blend, keep some chunky texture!  Transfer to an oven-proof baking dish, and bake for 17-20 minutes.  Remove and say ‘ahhhh’. I like to add a few sprinkles of gluten free bread crumbs about half way through baking for a little extra touch.

Peace

Roasted Red Pepper & Almond Hummus
White Bean Hummus with Fresh Thyme and Basil
Smoky Cannellini Sweet Potato Dip

I

Leave a Reply

