Monday Musings… when a chip isn’t a chip… it’s Coconut chips!

Just the facts… It’s Monday and I think the sun is trying to shine. It’s my Monday off, and a Monday after a weekend of yoga training. It’s the first Monday of February… Okay you get the idea that I have no idea how to get this blog started today!

First off I did have a most groovy weekend. Yes I said groovy. Every month for the last 4 months I spend one weekend with a group of aspiring peeps, who like me have found much benefit in yoga and want to become teachers. I only see these peeps about once a month, but the weekends although long and full, I look forward to them. This past weekend there was a lot of laughter as we continue to move through learning poses, breathing, teaching each other. Then there was the Thai yoga massage workshop on Sunday, insert lots of laughter, ending with a yin yoga class, I almost felt like a rung out noodle when I left, sure that I wouldn’t get through to half-time of the “big game.”

Coming home I realized I was hungry with not much ready to eat in the house that even resembled football food, but what did it matter if it was just me right? Then I remembered the little snack I had come across the other day and had made on Friday. Coconut chips. That’s right, and before you wonder how Coconut becomes a chip you have to rework your mind from big potato chip, to little tasty chips… of coconut… with sea salt! I am not sure how I stumbled upon this recipe, but I am sooo thankful I did.

Coconut is another one of those foods that as a child I wasn’t a big fan. I don’t think I liked the texture of shredded coconut on stuff, the flavor was okay. Since eating a much healthier diet I have become quite a fan of coconut and all its wonderful uses and eating it!

As I sit here munching on a little leftover bowl of chips, I realize in the last 24 hours I have eaten coconut, drank coconut water, used coconut as a moisturizer for face and body, and even on my hair! If you want to know more of how this whole food is used check out this chart by Dr. Mercola http://www.mercola.com/infographics/coconut-uses.htm You might be asking if you can have too much coconut… I don’t know. I realize that the oil is all fat, but it is good fat. According to some camps there should be no oil in cooking… I get that, so just use this oil for the other benefits if you are in that camp and don’t use it in excess in cooking if you are in the moderation camp! Did you know that coconut has lauric acid in it, which is also found in breast milk. It contains anti-fungal, anti-viral properties which have been shown to destroy many types of bacteria, viruses and fungus such as, candida, ringworm, athlete’s foot, thrush, diaper rash, and other infections. It is the richest source of medium-chain triglycerides (MCTs). MCT’s are burned for energy and they do not circulate in the blood stream like other fats. Instead, they are sent straight to the liver and converted into energy. Since the body does not store the fat, eating coconut oil can help with weight loss. So I suppose you can tell I am on the fence, not in either camp. I confess that I use coconut oil in some of my cooking, but I am not a daily consumer of the oil!

Like I said there are two camps and schools of thought on the subject of the oil. The camp that doesn’t like the oil in coconut still sees the benefits of the other parts of the coconut, so as I always encourage people to do, make wise choices for yourself and your family for your health, do your research. I do encourage you to use the oil for it’s other benefits! I can tell you eating coconut or using unrefined coconut oil is way better than processed junk.

On to the chips and the recipe. These were quite simple. After all my talk on the coconut oil, I will say that I used much less than the original recipe called for, and you won’t miss it. I took these with me to yoga training this weekend mixed in with some raw nuts and they were so yummy, the mix of sweet and salt hits my taste buds like a little party. I think these would make a great topper to desserts, breakfast cereals and they really are great on their own… watching football with nobody to judge my little chips!

You will need to find coconut flakes, or shave your own from coconut meat if you are feeling beastly! (someday I will attempt dissecting a coconut again). Finding them shouldn’t be difficult as most groceries carry both. Here’s the recipe and a little pic of these satisfying chips! Enjoy.

Coconut chips, sweet and salty
Coconut chips, sweet and salty

Sweet~N~Salty Coconut Chips

 

Ingredients

 

Instructions

 

  1. Pre-heat oven to 300 degrees
  2. Melt the coconut oil onto a sheet pan
  3. Mix the coconut flakes, sea salt in the coconut oil
  4. Bake a total of 8-9 minutes, stirring every 3 until golden brown. Watch carefully, it browns quickly.
  5. Pour onto a paper towel – enjoy!

 

~Peace~

 

Leave a Reply

