Monday Musings… time

“Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.”
3john2

I have a confession to make… I don’t do well with managing my time, I am a procrastinator. You know the type, waiting, pondering, finding 5 other things to do on the way to finish that last load of laundry. I make list, and forget to look at them. I “plan” to accomplish said list, I have even tried setting the timer to help me stay focused. I have read articles, tried different attacks to this nemesis and yet I still fall prey.

Imagine my reaction when I sat in the pew this Saturday night at church and time management was blasted across the screen. Wow, I so enjoy how God gets my attention. You see, this is something as I have already shared, that I have tried to “fix.”

I realized that I spout off here on a weekly basis, and at other times too, that we have been given a gift in these amazing bodies and I believe that God wants us to care for them as such, eat well, rest and move. I often say to Christians that God ask us to be good stewards of our money, our bodies, our lives… but what about time?

I never really put time in that equation to that level. This weekend was a kick in the pants. Just like all things, I know that I can’t “fix” this and that I have been wrong in the ways I have gone about it. I need to pray first. Pray about the things on my “to do list,” and ask God what should be there.

This blog/e-mail is one of those things on “my list.” While I hope that it is an encouragement, helps people make better choices, is it wise use of my, I mean God’s time? I hope to be a better steward of the time I have been given. I pray that in the next few weeks I will figure out what that looks like. Maybe you will see me here every other week… who knows.

Let’s talk a little food and time…

I can tell you that I don’t feel time is wasted when I am with my family. Sunday I got to hang out with some of them, and I did one of my cooking task which was make Risotto. If you have never made Risotto, well it takes, you got it time! I have always wanted to make it, but thought it was hard. I wouldn’t describe it as difficult, just not a dish that in 30 minutes dinner is on the table… maybe 45 🙂 But it is also time well spent for a different take on your typical rice. The rice becomes creamy and depending on whether you go for al dente or slightly more done, you won’t be disappointed. Everyone liked the Asparagus Risotto I made, and with just a little more tweeking I believe I will master this technique. I don’t think I can include this recipe, but really what I wanted to share with you, was don’t be afraid like me to make this. It’s easiest if you use Arborrio rice/Italian rice and you can get it anywhere, but the technique can be done with any rice, this just makes it the creamiest. Google a recipe and enjoy the process. I put the link below, but not sure it will take you to the recipe I used.

the process
the process

You too, can enjoy this dish, take a little time to slow down and enjoy the process. Hopefully like me, you will have family around to chat with, or hear the tinkling of the ivories in the next room from the kids.
Remember too that Risotto is a technique of cooking rice, therefore the dishes are endless in their simplicity or complexity. Maybe you will get off work early, or you can make this for a Sunday dinner, when time slows down a little, for some I hope.
Take time to enjoy this gift, the gift of time, and be healthy about it!

My beautiful taste tester!
My beautiful taste tester!

Peace

http://rouxbe.com/cooking-courses/plant-based-foundations-pro-certification/task/7004/activity/22949

Leave a Reply

