Monday Musings… inspiration, legacy and peanut sauce

on

A little late in getting my blog on! It was quite a packed Easter weekend. My younger sister sent a message out to the siblings a couple of weeks ago to surprise Mom and Pop for Easter weekend. So the prep began. For me that includes turning into a crazy woman making kale chips, crackers, dips, humus, salads, dressings and what will eat for our big meal on Saturday night. Both my sisters came up with Not so Crabby, Crab Cakes, my brother suggested the stuff with “that peanut sauce” and me, well I just want everyone to be healthy and try veghead food! However we still throw out some “other food” for the carnivores… and we like to keep it simple so it’s fun, so we can play… and we do! Just a few examples here!

slack line fun
slack line fun
throwing in a little yoga before cooking!
throwing in a little yoga before cooking!

So the menu for the big meal included spring rolls (those things with the peanut sauce) for my big brother. The Not so Crabby Cakes for my sisters, (recipe is on the blog) Momma and a few others! A citrus glazed salmon with avocado and orange salsa, hasselback potatoes, grilled asparagus and chocolate pie!! Oh somebody made some grilled chicken lol 🙂

yummo! Spring rolls
yummo! Spring rolls
After a full day of track meet, this was a nice snack for Bro!
After a full day of track meet, this was a nice snack for Bro!
the hasselback taters!
the hasselback taters! because they are pretty and fun like us!
PIE! Pa likes this!
PIE! Pa likes this!

As you can see we aren’t much for ceremony.

Family style
Family style

But we enjoy it all…

beautiful... and no beer for this girl... being goofy!
beautiful… and no beer for this girl… being goofy!

So as you can see we like our food and fun…

The title of this post, the inspiration… this crew (we are missing 3 beautiful faces in this pic) but these are the one’s who inspire me the most.

My inspiration
My inspiration

They inspire me to make food that they may eat amidst the carnivore and some processed food that shows up! They inspire me to be me, and to strive to be better! The legacy… my Momma! I grew up eating good real food 98% of the time! A wonderful cook who has served up more dishes than I could ever imagine! My Pops, who I don’t think I have ever seen him cook if a grill or camping wasn’t involved, but who despite chemo and a meat eater palate eats some of my creations and even likes them. So much more could be said about these people… but we will get on to the recipe!

I thought about just making the peanut sauce for my brother, but hey, you have to dip something in it… or not! This sauce could be used as a dressing over a salad, or veggies. Also remember that you can make it to your taste buds… a little hotter, a little thinner, or chunky style depending on application. I have made this using either almond butter or peanut butter (just make sure you use the real stuff no Jiff allowed) so it’s up to you again to use your “inner chef” and go for it! You will not be disappointed!

Spicey Peanut Sauce

Gluten, dairy, sugar free and vegan!

1/3 cup peanut butter/or almond

1/4 cup sweetener of choice (agava, maple syrup or honey)

1/4 sesame oil (I have been known to cut this in half, but like a little of the sesame flavor)

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1 tsp. ginger powder or fresh is even better

pinch of red flakes (I have used here also a chili paste with garlic that has a nice kick Lan Chi brand)

pinch of sea salt

Blend all in a high-speed blender and season to taste or adjust heat as needed. At this point I like to add a couple spoonfuls of peanuts and make a chunky sauce. If needed add water if it is too thick for dipping! Yummo!!

Peace

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hansel & Petal 3165 says:

    Glad you posted the recipe because I’ve been meaning to ask you for it….. Thanks – everything was really good

  2. zebveg says:

    you are most welcome!

Leave a Reply

