Monday Musings… pondering much

“Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.”
3john2

IMG_9271

Maybe I am more wiped out from the weekend than I think. I woke up early, but was enjoying the chirping of birds, the cool breeze through the window, that I must have fallen back to sleep thinking it was still May, and spring, and there was still… time.

This past weekend I had my next to last class of yoga teacher training. Saturday was our written final and learning to spell Sanskrit and words like Paschimottanasana, which is basically a seated forward fold, or in English Intense Western Stretch. If you have ever taken a gym class, then you have done this pose, I had 27 to spell… not to mention many other questions, like Pranayama (breath work). We also started our practicums. Each of the students teaches a one hour class in which we all take the class. That’s 7 hours of yoga practice in 2 days… not something westerner’s usually do, and not this chic. So my friends, here’s the question for you today: What are your thoughts on yoga? Do you see it as a physical practice only, a religion, a cult community, crazy hippies lol? Just curious as I finish up the training, and have been teaching some, I wonder what the thoughts are of others, I value your all’s feedback on so many things, so please share.

In my head a lot is swirling around as usual. Much of it isn’t ready to put out there, but I am thinking of the lessons I have learned over the last year taking this class. The changes that have happened in my body and in the way I “view” my body. I have always seen the body as the beautiful, intricate masterpiece that God created it to be, but even more so now. In this fast paced world, yoga has taught me to slow down if only for a few moments a day to really tap into that and be thankful for the gift I have been given. Were I see faults… or should I say what I call imperfections, I now see grace (I am working on this when it comes to cellulite lol). Seriously though, like the scar from my roller blading accident, grace that I wasn’t hurt worse, didn’t poke an eye out, that I fell just right, not to snap my neck. My bum knee… through yoga I feel like I am strengthening that knee, and that twinge of pain if I go to far, reminds me that my physical body might have limits, but not the spirit of God in me, this keeps me humble. I have had the privilege of meeting people from different ages and stages of life who I would have never met, moving me out of my comfort zone. It’s opened my eyes to hearts that are open, hurting, needing, searching, thriving… it’s been cool.
Just a few thoughts.

Could I have done this with some “other” activity? Running group, cycling? Sure I suppose so, and I have in the past some. So where am I going with all this? Get out, step out of your comfort zone, take care of your body by moving it, and don’t always make it an alone journey. Join in with someone, take the journey together and discover new and wonderful things about life and yourself.

No food recipe this week, sorry, I was pretty basic in eating just big old salads, topped with last weeks dressing recipe, which by the way keeps it’s color pretty good for at least 3 days especially with the lemon juice. I have drank lots of green juice and smoothies too for the busy week. Hoping to dig back into Rouxbe this week and sharing with you more from that. If you follow me on FB I have been reposting some of the video clips from some of the doctors that are teaching in this course too.

Give me your feedback on what makes you get out and move? What are your thoughts on yoga? Do you have a good relationship with your body? I know weird question, but seriously if you don’t love your body today where it is, then will you really take care of it? Will you feed it well, or self sabotage? We take care of what we love, love your body imperfections and all, because you are fearfully and wonderfully made!

Peace,
Debbie

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Susan says:

    I do try to take care of my body. No yoga (formally) but, as I’ve told you, my personal trainer has incorporated some yoga moves into my workouts. I work “hard” and “fast” when I garden, usually to the point of exhaustion.

    I probably don’t eat enough but 90% of what I do eat is vegetarian. Maybe 50% vegan (too stubborn to give up cheese). I have the occasional “bad food choices” day and pay for it with a case of “the cha-chas”.

    The results I enjoy are a lean, muscular, youthful body with lots of endurance. Very little arthritic pain anymore. I also enjoy seeing my garden and the wildlife surrounding it grow and thrive because I use organic gardening methods. I consider my home and yard extensions of my body. It is all part of “my house” and I work to make it a good place to live.

  2. zebveg says:

    So cool Susan! You inspire!

Leave a Reply

