Monday Musings… Chocolate torte, celebration

“Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.”

3john2

Hello my friends. So, a week ago I had another birthday. As birthday’s go at my age, it was a good one. Actually it was better than good. I presented my yoga practicum, I toasted with my yogi’s, watched an old movie at Victoria theatre and continued celebrating a little the next day too.
As birthdays go, I am always surprised at the number, because I really don’t know what it means. Should I act different? Change how I dress? I mean some birthdays have there built in rights of passages, but others don’t, and they just are… so there you have it.
What I can say is that when my birthday happens, I often think about the fact that basically half the year is over, and soon we will be in the holiday season. I know! I can hear you all telling me to be quiet.
I hear you telling me there is still summer to be had, and you all are correct, and well living in the moment is what I have been pondering lately.
In my yoga practicum we were to present a theme. Our music and such were to match said theme. I did… I pulled out one of my favorite songs from High School… “The Secret of Life” by James Taylor. It was a special song to me then, and it just keep coming up in my head, so I went with it, he sings about enjoying the passage of time. We often don’t do that. We worry about time, we ask for more time, we regret time, we ponder time, but do we just live?
Live in the moment, that was my theme. To truly be present right were you are, right now.
So easy to say, so hard to do. Why, I wonder?
I am trying to be more present. To savor the moments. Like the laughter of my family, like the vegan shindig I hosted with friends the other night for my Rouxbe cooking class final.
The cool breezes we have had this summer, hugs and words that go deep.
Really savoring all the flavors too of summer. The first berries from Dad’s berry bushes, and strawberry’s. The bite of that first tomato, or corn on the cob.

I hope that you are savoring the flavors and moments of the summer. The everyday, and the not so everyday moments that build a lifetime of memories, that shape us into the people we are.

This is just a quick post, I hope to blog more about my doings of late and share with you all a recipe for chocolate torte! There are so many recipes to share from my Rouxbe journey, but this one is yummy and the one I shared at our last day at Yoga training, creamy goodness and a real treat in summer!

So there you have it friends, 2 post in one day… maybe to make up for the last month of craziness!

Enjoy the moments
Peace
Debbie

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Joyce Foster says:

    keeps

  2. Joyce Foster says:

    Do you know how much I love you?!

    1. zebveg says:

      More than I will ever know! love you too Momma!

Leave a Reply

