Monday Musings… It’s a little corny

on

Okay… I thought I was being a somewhat witty and creative with the title of this blog, yet it probably falls a little flat. I am distracted by the bright sun outside calling me to hit the pavement, or just soak in the beauty of the morning.

So much has been going on and I know I have been remiss in blogging, so here I am! I can’t believe it is August, and for many school will be starting up in just a few weeks! I had such plans for summer, I know it’s not over yet. I just knew I would spend some time in Columbus with my brother, just hanging out eating well and sharing a brew or two. I was sure that I would be making many yummy summer fresh dishes with the bounty of the season and my wonderful CSA! Neither of these goals has really happened, but I still have time!

Today I wanted to share with you a recipe for Coconut-ginger corn on the cob! Oh my gosh. I think the Sarno brothers and their Wicked Healthy branding is the bomb! (I should check in with my niece to know whether that term is used anymore) They rock the vegan world with such great stuff and this was a recipe I kept wanting to make. Finally corn season, and this easy twist on corn on the cob was so extremely tasty. So if you are looking for a different way to be a little “corny” this summer try this one out! Oh and the broth that is leftover… don’t throw it out, I think I could have just sipped on this! But I will tell you what I did with it later, first the star dish!

taking a coconut milk bath
taking a coconut milk bath

Coconut-Ginger Corn on the cob

Ingredients:

6 ears, Organic corn, shucked

Water

1 can of Light coconut milk

½ bunch, fresh mint

¼ cup fresh ginger, sliced  no need to peel

5 garlic cloves, sliced

½ tsp. salt

1 lime (optional, but highly suggested)

a dash of ground pepper if you like!

It’s up to you if you want to soak it ahead of time.  It does help with intensifying the flavor, so let the corn take a bath!

  1. Add all ingredients to medium size sauce pot, adding water just to cover the corn.  Save the lime and some mint for garnish.
  2. Heat sauce pot on med-low heat until it comes to a slow simmering boil (the lower and slower the heat = more flavor that the cob with absorb)
  3. Cook for about 15 minutes more and let sit and serve from the pot.
  4. Squeeze lime over the corn and a drizzle of broth in a serving bowl, I do recommend a shallow dish or bowl for serving so you can let the corn swim a little longer between bites!
  5. Strain the broth and save it for soup or something later, the broth is delish!IMG_1659This picture isn’t the best representation of this goodness! All I can say is I grew up slathering on butter, salt and pepper on corn. A good ear of bi-color sweet corn really doesn’t need all that, but I can tell you this little twist doesn’t over power the goodness of the corn but enhances it and makes you want to keep eating for sure!
    the bones!
    the bones!

    Here I must confess. This broth was so good I literally sucked the corn cobs to get all the flavor!! That might be too much info, but I dare you to make this dish and see if you don’t do the same thing!

    Now on to the leftover broth. After straining it I thought I would make soup with it like suggested. Pressed for time and needing something for lunch, I decided to pour it over some chopped up kale and fresh tomato’s and cucumber, with a splash of sriracha sauce! I was so surprised when I ate it the next day. It was a whole new dish and so easy! I think it would be great to use as a corn soup as suggested. Don’t limit your creativity. Or this might just be more proof that I will eat just about any combo of veggies! I would have taken a picture, but I didn’t know it was going to make it to the blog!

So find you some fresh, non GMO, hopefully organic corn and get your shuck on, a little hot bath in coconut milk and enjoy this recipe… and I bit you suck on the cobs! 😉

I hope that you too are enjoying some goodness from the bounty of summer veggies and sharing that and a hug with those you love.

Peace

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Veggietorials says:

    You had me at coconut but the ginger takes this recipe over the top! I would drink the broth straight up 🙂

Leave a Reply

