I’m musing, even though it’s not Monday

Yesterday was Labor day, and while I “labored” over almost 30 miles on my bike, I otherwise took a break, rested, chilled! I ate a huge plate of yummy dairy free nachos covered in black beans, greens, avocado oh my!IMG_3997Saturday I had the pleasure of hosting a little Not so Cheesy workshop. What a fun day sharing and learning more about non-dairy eating. The fact that it really isn’t that hard. I had around 9 people, all different ages, with various reasons as to why they want to let go off dairy. Animal protein promotes the growth of cancer. The China Study, written by T. Colin Campbell, PhD., who grew up on a dairy farm, so he regularly enjoyed a wholesome glass of milk. Not anymore. In multiple, peer-reviewed animal studies, researchers discovered that they could actually turn the growth of cancer cells on and off by raising and lowering doses of casein, the main protein found in cow’s milk. Did you also know that the casein has addictive properties?

Okay… off  my rant. I’m gonna share a few pics from Saturday. The guest enjoyed Cheesy Kale Chips, Cheez-it’s, Cashew Herbed Cream cheese with crackers, Macadamia nut log, Nacho’s with non dairy cheese… finishing off with the choice of 3 different cheesecakes, blueberry, chocolate chip, and Bourbon Caramel, yummo. I have convinced myself that I will eat about anything plant and find a way to enjoy it, however sharing with others always makes me a little nervous, but I truly want others to realize you too can live healthier and still enjoy eating! I think I may have hit most of that Saturday!

teaching and sharingIMG_5145

yep... vegan cheescake

IMG_5147I thought I would share the Nacho’s recipe. I had only made this once before Saturday and ate it so quickly, I didn’t realize the treasure and goodness that these really are. You see back in my cheese days, nachos were dinner many a night! As I do, I am confessing here that since Saturday I have had them twice. I don’t feel so guilty these days with this quick and easy cheese sauce, and I dare you to try it for football snackage with some non-vegans! You can do it!

Nacho Cheese Sauce

  • 1.5 cups non dairy milk
  • 2 Tbsp GF flour/or regular
  • 1/2 Tbs tapioca or corn starch
  • ½ tsp mustard powder
  • ¼ tsp garlic powder or paste or 1 small clove
  • ½ tsp onion powder
  • ¼ tsp chipotle pepper powder
  • ½ tsp paprika or smoked paprika
  • ¼ tsp cumin powder
  • 1 Tbsp pickled jalapeno or 1 tsp fresh jalapeno (optional)
  • 3-4 Tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 3 tsp lemon juice
  • ¼ tsp turmeric (optional for color)
  • ½ tsp salt or to taste

Mix all this together in a blender, or a good whisking by hand. Place in saucepan on medium heat till mixture begins to thicken. Taste for flavor and add spice or salt accordingly.

I warmed up my chips in the oven, added a big handful of spinach romaine mix, black beans then the cheese sauce, fresh salsa, avocado and fresh cilantro garnish!

IMG_3996This was my next day helping. Re-heating the cheese you may need to add some liquid, about 1/2 -1 Tbsp, beer, non-dairy milk, water… you get the idea. This cheesy sauce can be used over veggies, or maybe just a dip! Let your taste-buds lead you, use your creative imagination and get a little cheesy!

I’ll leave you with the ending of the workshop. As my sister passed the note, that I needed to “wrap up,” and I was starting to get hungry myself, I asked if there was anymore questions? The final question of the day… “This is totally off topic, but what kind of soap do you have in your bathroom?” and this is why I enjoy doing this kind of thing! The answer:IMG_5162Not the clearest picture, this is Dr. Bronner’s Magic soap! It is one of my all time favorites! I use peppermint in my guest bathroom, well because it wakes them up! Now my secret is out. If conversation has lulled, my presentation isn’t going well as long as I have hydrated you, you will need the bathroom, and, well the invigorating smell of peppermint will revive you! Thank you Dr. Bronner’s

Peace

Leave a Reply

