Timely Tuesday

I haven’t blogged in a while. There a few things that have been put on the “back burner”. I could use the excuse that my house is torn up, literally and that will be the one today! I finally decided to get new flooring… 11 years later. When I got this house, I hated the linoleum flooring in the kitchen. There was always something else I could spend money on, and it was functional. Not like I was living with a dirt floor, or overly damaged. Same for the carpet. Mind you there was a big stain on the carpet that the previous owners had so well staged the couch over that I missed it before buying, and thus my couch has hidden said stain for the past 11 years.

The time has come, I actually made a decision on flooring, which of course meant that I needed to paint the walls, and then what about cabinets? Do I change-up the counter tops? Spruce up the corner gas fireplace Pops put in for me, because I HAD to have a fireplace?

Anyone who has done a house project knows that one project usually leads to another. Anyone who knows me, knows I have a hard time making decisions and as much as I like nice things, I am also of the mind sight that “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.” With a little help, no a lot of help and encouragement from family and some good friends this little Reno is happening. I will spare you the pictures, but a few weeks ago I started moving furniture, my bedroom and the spare rooms are packed, and so far I can find everything I need for day-to-day, but don’t ask me for anything out of that realm, like an envelope, well I do know where those are. Over the weekend a good friend ripped out carpeting, and the dreaded linoleum is gone. I have beautifully new painted walls, thanks Momma and Greg. (that was another whole drama picking out colors and painting… remember I said I can’t make decisions!). My living space is a big cavern as I wait for the “floor guy” to start his work. Gone are the dust gathering blinds, the temporary paper blinds are hung, lets just hope they aren’t still here a year later! 🙂 I am so tempted to take out my sharpies and do some art on these concrete floors, (yep, that may be the way to survive crazy!)  in a dream home, I might keep a little painted concrete,  but this is not that house!

Needless to say all this activity has made being in the kitchen, being creative with food, not on the top of my proverbial list. Quick meals, lots of salads, some eating out and thank goodness for smoothies! However this morning in the midst of concrete, stacks of wood flooring boxes, paint brushes, echoes and the like I decided to whip up an eye catching and soul satisfying bowl of oatmeal. Inspired by the cooler temps, fall breezes and my sister Cindy’s tempting bowl I was on a mission.

Cindy's bowl

                              Cindy’s bowl

I thought about going for a savory bowl, but opted to use the overripe sweet banana and do my normal, add a kick here and there. The only thing “normal” or ordinary about my oatmeal, was the actual oatmeal. I add a dash of salt, cinnamon, tumeric (because my joints like it when I do!) not to mention a kick of cayenne, because why not! I added a spoonful of almond butter and a little coconut water (I didn’t have any milk made). To top off my bowl I went with banana, gogi berries and cocoa nibs with a drizzle of honey. YUMMO! This fuel me well with all this re-habing!12118906_10154319698394237_1446263432408669192_nWho wouldn’t feel special setting down to this for breakfast? I have shared with you before the benefits of cinnamon and tumeric for the healing properties, goji berries, this amazing little superfruit contains natural anti-inflammatory, anti-bacterial and anti-fungal compounds. Their powerful antioxidant properties and polysaccharides help to boost the immune system, great for this time of year! What about cocoa nibs? Cacao nibs — bits of the same cacao beans that go into candy bars and hot chocolate — contain healthy antioxidants that can boost your health. Also called cocoa beans, cacao beans are technically a seed (plant-based!) Cacao nibs are less refined than chocolate liquor or cocoa powder and thus are more nutritionally potent. So yes, chocolate is a good thing, just make sure you are eating the right kind. Some studies suggest that adding this little gem to your diet will boost heart health!

So treat yourself well, your body, mind and spirit will thank you! Make your meals, however simple, special, you deserve it! Really when was the last time you went to a restaurant and was served a bowl of such a simple and wonderful food? Usually it’s more like wall paper paste… yes, I had to through in the whole house reno stuff! I’m out of here, trim to paint, dishwasher’s to look at, and no, my kitchen is not quite the “gourmet” kitchen of my dreams, but it is going to be a creative space that will inspire healthful foods to share! So who wants to come to dinner?

Peace

Leave a Reply

